Skip to content

Thursday Thirteen #1 American Idol:Songs of Disappointment

January 16, 2008

I am not an American Idol fan. However, with prompting by all the publicity for the new season I thought I would give it one more chance and tuned in for the season premiere on Tuesday evening. I will have to say I was not disappointed – it was as bad as I remembered from watching the first show a few years ago – and I only lasted 45 minutes. My biggest objection to the show is how the producers “use” the hopes and dreams of average, everyday, untalented people to boost their ratings. It was so sad to watch the obvious heartbreak of these want-to-be-the-next-American Idols. I became so aggravated watching the “judges” laugh in the disappointed faces of these people who truly believed they had “a shot” to realize their dreams, I decided to write this column for my first post to Thursday Thirteen:

Thirteen Things about Crickets Hearth. . . American Idol: 13 songs of Disappointment

1.Disappoinment by the Cranberries

2.The Great Disappointment by AFI

3.Sweet Disappointment by Graph Nobel

4.Disappointments True Face by Trail of Tears

5.Mr. Disappointment by Neil Young

6.Disappointment Blues by the Hellacopters

7.Twelve Small Steps, One Giant Disappointment by Bad Astronaut

8.Song About Disappointment by Destroyer

9.Disappointment Number (Unknown) by Steppenwolf

10.Disappointed by Face to Face

11.Divine Disappointment by Alias

12.Disappointed Love by Number 201

13.Is That All There Is by Peggy Lee ( my personal favorite)

American Idol, I ask you, “Is that all there is to your show?”

1.Natalie

2.The Gal Herself

3.Nicholas

4.Greatfullivin

5. pussreboots

6. melanie

7. CandyQ

8. SandyCarlson

9. Robin

10. Mama Pajama

11.SJ Reidhead

12.Working at Home Mom

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2008 8:07 pm

    I don’t care for American Idol either…boring show!

  2. January 16, 2008 9:07 pm

    #13 was an inspired choice! (Oh no, not me. I’m not ready for that last disappointment.) And thanks for visiting my TT.

  3. January 16, 2008 9:11 pm

    Welcome to TT!

    I saw the original, “Pop Idol” a couple of times in England and that was enough. After I moved to the US and heard that Cowell was doing and American version I decided I wouldn’t bother. I don’t really like that sort of music anyway. I think one trouble is that parents tell children that they can be anything they desire if they really, really want to, which of course is rubbish. No amount of wanting is any substitute for talent or ability. These kids probably sang to friends or family, who all said how good they were, and they were naïve enough to believe it. Unfortunately, no TV company ever lost money by dwelling in detail on the misfortunes of ordinary people.

  4. January 16, 2008 10:24 pm

    I just love American Idol. It is so funny. I have spent the last two evenings watching the show while live blogging at The Median Sib..What an absolute Hoot! My pick for song of disappointment is #13 for sure. Have a great TT!

  5. January 16, 2008 11:30 pm

    I’ve never watched American Idol. Happy TT.

  6. January 17, 2008 12:28 am

    I’ve never seen American Idol.

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  7. January 17, 2008 12:45 am

    I like to watch when they have all the contestants…right now they are going from city to city and I cannot stand it. I get so embarrassed for some of them..they are so bad and ARGH!! I wish someone had told them before they went on national television!

  8. January 17, 2008 2:08 am

    I love watching American Idol especially the auditions… There are a lot of crazies out there! :o)

  9. January 17, 2008 5:47 am

    This post makes me realize how long it’s been since I listened to the Cranberries! I love No. 13, too.

  10. January 17, 2008 10:44 am

    great list. american idol is so overrated.

  11. January 17, 2008 1:22 pm

    I have to admit to occasionally watching some of the really awful audition trainwrecks, but on the whole I find it boring.

  12. January 17, 2008 3:28 pm

    I just wrote two posts about American Idol : ) It’s only good during the auditions. Then I lose interest….

  13. February 11, 2010 3:49 am

    i actually love all your posting kind, very attractive.
    don’t quit as well as keep posting due to the fact it simply good worth to read it.
    excited to looked over much more of your articles, cheers 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Link Love for January

Leave a Reply

