Skip to content

Know & Tell Friday

February 8, 2008

know-tell-friday.jpg

 Know & Tell Friday is a meme hosted by To Know Him. I enjoy participating in this meme because it gives me the opportunity to express my feelings and share my life’s experiences, the good and the bad.

Question 1                                                                               How often do you get real sick? I very seldom get sick. I get an occassional headache or stomach upset, but I can count on one hand how many days a year I miss work because I am ill. Praise the Lord!

Question 2
Do you usually send serious or humorous greeting cards? Why?
Some of each. When I am selecting a card for someone I consider the occassion and the person. It can take me hours to select just the right card, or it has been a minute. The card has to speak to me before I send it!

Question 3
Are you a person who has a whole lot of acquaintances, or just a few very close friends?
At different times in my life the number has changed. When I was younger, I had few friends, mostly because of a stuttering problem. Once I learned to stop stuttering, I began to feel better about myself and began to make more friends. As a teenager, I opened up and actually had a lot of friends. All through my 20’s and 30’s I maintain quite a few aquaintenances, mostly through work and volunteering projects. Following my divorce in my early 40’s and another major negative event in my life, the number of my aquaintenances fell off. Now, in my 50’s, I have a few good friends I know I can count on. 

Question 4
If you could cure a disease, or heal a sickness, which one would you choose?
I would cure abusive behaviors, physical and sexual abuse. I have personally had too much first hand knowledge of both, and I know the lasting lifetime affects of destroyed families, destroyed self-esteem, and destroyed lives. It has taken much counseling for me to accept abusive behavior is an illness.

Bonus Questions
Question 5
What does “being spiritual” mean to you?
 It may be easier to say what being spiritual does not mean to me.  I do not believe a person has to go to church every time its doors are open to be spiritual. I do not believe tithing 10% of your income makes you spiritual. I do not believe “good works” makes you more spiritual than someone else. I think involving yourself in these things can enhance your walk with the Lord, but they, in themselves do not increase your “spiritualness.” Being spiritual to me means my personal relationship with God. It is the early morning talk with Him as I drive to work. It is my reliance on Him when I have a decsion to make. It is my giving Him the honor and the glory for the good that happens in my life. Being spiritual is my walk with the Lord.

Question 6
Imagine you were talking to someone who did not believe in God and Jesus… How would you explain to them that Jesus is Real (from your experiences in your own life)?
From my own personal experience, I know non-believer’s have a difficult time getting past the, “If their is a God, why does He allow so many bad things to happen to good people? Why does He allow children to get raped or beaten? If He is so almighty and powerful, why doesn’t he protect the innocent? What kind of God is He anyways?”

Now that I am saved, I know the answer is not any easier hear than the questions. I tell people God has a plan for each of our lives, and His plan contains things we like and things we don’t like. We have to have faith that all things will work together for the good.

I like to use a painted picture as an example, although any photograph will also work. I point to the picture and ask what colors the person likes. The tend to pick the pretty blues and yellows, and sometimes the reds and greens. I then ask which colors they do not like. The person usually has a difficult time picking a single color, and most often says something alone the lines of, “The picture is real pretty and all the colors work together.” -which is what I am hoping they will say. I then point out a black area in the picture and ask, “What kind of picture would this be if the only color was black? What if it was only yellow?” They normally respond with something along the lines of “it wouldn’t be a real picture” or “it wouldn’t be fun to look at”. I then explain that the reason the picture is so pretty is because it has many colors, even blacks and browns, which work with the yellows and blues and greens to make one really nice painting. I go on to say that is the way God designs our lives. He uses all the colors of happiness and sadness to make us the person He wants us to become. We just have to trust Him and believe He will not give us more than we can handle. It gets difficult sometimes, but as long as we remain faithful to Him, He will remain faithful to us, and actually, He always is faithful to us once we have truly accepted Him as our personal saviour. Even when we backslide or become complacent or take His love for granted, He keeps on loving us and waits until we get enough sense to come back to Him.

I usually go on and give my testimony, with the primary proof of God’s existence being how He removed the years of anger from my heart in an instant. Years of pent-up emotions of hatred for the uncle who molested and raped me, years of anger towards my mother for how she treated me all my life, years of loathing for an exhusband who molested our daughter and stripped all my self-esteem away – all gone in an instant when I said to the Lord at my grandmother’s funeral, “Yes, Lord I do believe you are there. I do want you to come into my life and help me. Yes, Lord, I do believe.” 

What kind of God is He? He is a loving Father, in all sense of the word.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2008 10:11 pm

    Wow, some very powerful answers to the questions today. Thank you so much for participating. I am sorry that you have had some very tragic things happen to you, but how amazing that you have learned to believe God and trust Him through those circumstances. What a blessing you are to others… Thanks again for participating…

  2. February 9, 2008 3:20 pm

    Wow. Wonderful meme! 🙂

Leave a Reply

