Skip to content

Writer’s Island #3: I Have Changed

February 9, 2008

reflections1.jpg

Mirror, Mirror in my hand

Tell me, Tell me if you can

Where did the days of my youth go,

And why dear Lord, do I walk so slow?

My brown eyes now need glasses to see,

And I find I must get up in the night to pee.

Many things have changed since I’ve gotten older,

Summers are hotter and winters are colder.

My breasts, once quite a firm and perky pair

Now need pushed and padded to prove they are still there.  

My days of drinking and partying late into the night

Have been replaced with early to bed and eating light

And now I see my shining locks, once so full and thick

Are thinning and graying and falling out in my hairpick.

How can this be? I ask with eyes full of tears

Things sure have changed in my golden years.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2008 12:13 am

    ……..I’m sorry……

    I wish we could stay young forever. Trust me. I would love to be this young for the rest of my life, because I feel 35 now, so I don’t want to know what I’ll feel like at 35.

    🙂

  2. February 10, 2008 4:35 am

    I am 21,
    Just have 27 years worth of expeience…………

  3. February 10, 2008 4:37 am

    Ya still beautiful, it is just that sometimes people do not see it!

  4. February 10, 2008 7:10 am

    I liked this. Yes, there are physical problems to growing old, but in the mind we can be forever young – if we want to.
    As long as we remember to, that is.

  5. February 10, 2008 7:17 am

    Great little commentary, sad that we all have to age.. perhaps the secret is to not look in the mirror!

  6. February 10, 2008 7:46 pm

    I hear ya! Boy, am I surprised when I look in the morror! Cute poem!

  7. February 11, 2008 4:34 am

    I belong to the ‘I refuse to acknowledge that I’m old’ brigade – I feel just as young inside as I ever did. I loved the humour, especially the lines, ‘My brown eyes now need glasses to see/And I find I must get up in the night to pee’.

  8. February 11, 2008 10:11 am

    Firstly I finally found myself a identical blog twin 🙂

    “Things sure have changed in my golden years.”
    Things have changed in your golden years, some you miss but would you regret what you have gained over years, the chance to live such wonderful thing called “life” ?

  9. February 11, 2008 5:47 pm

    Oh I liked this! Everyone can relate to it!
    I liked the fridge space too. especially the part where no one admits to doing it….

  10. February 11, 2008 10:15 pm

    It can only get better with age. Trust us, the so called oldies!

    endless possibilities

  11. February 11, 2008 11:11 pm

    Are you describing me? Wait, let me get my glasses to be sure…

  12. February 12, 2008 2:57 am

    I had to renew my passport recently and couldn’t believe the difference when I saw the new photo. 40 is the new 30 though, isn’t it? No matter how you look you sound like a beautiful person to me!

  13. February 12, 2008 1:21 pm

    I really loved the photo on this post…because it is what I see when I’m looking at my true self in the mirror (instead looking for lines, those pesky stay hairs, and changes in my hair color.

    We are as young as we allow ourselves to be. My mother is the best example, she is 66 going on 16.

    (and PS…thanks for stopping by blog and your kind comments….I have just five words for you…”Behold, the power of CHEESE!” 😉

  14. February 13, 2008 2:27 am

    Oh great poem so true but now wisdom will shine through

  15. February 14, 2008 4:07 am

    Physical fades but inner beauty remains and you are beautiful!

    Women aging gracefully are admirable. Beauty showing as it radiates from inside from the wisdom, the experience and the love they brought to this world with just their presence.

    I love my mother for being just like that – no amount of youth could ever replace the beauty that she exudes in my life from then to now til forever.

    You are beautiful because you are, you are.

    I wish well.

    ~ Jeques

Leave a Reply

