Skip to content

Two for One:Sunday Scribblings: Fridge Space & One World-One Heart

February 10, 2008

sunday2.jpg     &     oneword-one-heart.jpg

One World – One Heart 

I am delighted to take part in this wonderful event designed to bring bloggers together all over the world. The deadline for entry is Valentine’s Day. I live in Holmes County, Ohio – home of the world’s largest settlement of Amish and also home to  Guggisberg  Swiss Cheese factory. Guggisberg has won manybabyswiss_large.jpg

awards all over the world for their famous Guggisberg Baby Swiss Cheese. I will be giving a wheel of this to one of you leaving a comment to this post. Please check out One World – One Heart to play along and/or to submit more entires.  Save some fridge space for this delicious treat! 

 

It is now 8:48pm on Valentine’s Day. I choose #84 as the winner of the wheel of Guggisberg Cheese! This person will have until 8:48pm on Friday, February 15th to leave a comment claiming their prize. If #84 does not respond by the stated time, then the prize will go to #48, providing they leave a comment by the same time. If neither checks back to see if they won, then I will have another drawing.

 

Sunday Scribblings: Fridge Space

ice_box2.jpg

As a small child in the mid 1950’s, I remember spending much time in my grandmother’s kitchen watching her bake bread in an oven fueled by burning wood, going outside to pump some water, and store the “cow’s milk” in a wooden cabinet she called an ice box. I liked the ice box because grandma allowed me to pick some ice shavings from the block of ice, which was quite the treat in the hot days of summer. Grandma’s ice box was much smaller than the refrigerator we had at home. I asked her one day why she didn’t get a refrigerator like we had. I assured her she would not only have more room, but she would have a colder box and we could have ice cream any time we wanted it, and, all she would have to do is plug it into the wall instead having George deliver ice every other day or so.  Grandma laughed and said, “Now Cricket, There are all kind of new fangled things that will just clutter your house and clutter your mind. I like keeping things simple. Besides, I would miss seeing George and I think you would miss getting a hunk of ice to lick?”

I recalled that conversation with grandma when I saw the prompt for today’s Sunday Scribbling. As a five year old, I didn’t understand why grandma wouldn’t want to have all the good things that we had in our house. It seemed to me she did alot of extra work that could have been avoided with the conveniences of modern appliances. She had to cut the wood, carry it in, and then fuss with getting the right sized pieces for what she was baking or cooking depending on the temperature needed. And the water being outside was a real pain. A bucket of water had to be pumped and carried in, and then heated on the wood-burning stove before dishes could be done. And then to have just a small area to store necessary perishables, only to have to empty the pan catching the melting ice every morning and every night, well that seemed a bit much to even a five year old. If she would have only gotten a real refrigerator, she would have had less work and more fridge space and a better life. Or would she?

There are few things that are more irritating to domestic diva’s or engineers, which ever the case may be, than having to clean the refrigerator. If only our saving accounts could accummulate leftover money at the pace our refrigetator collects leftover food, we would all be wealthy. But alas, that is not the case.

I refer to cleaning my refrigerator as it is time to do “the job.” Why is it that someone, probably the fridge grinch since no human person living in the house ever admits to it, can take the last wrapped piece of cheese but not take the package it came in out and throw it away? How many calories will a teeny tiny dab of mashed potatoes left in a dish really add to your waist line. And I think it would take less time to throw away a milk jug than to open the door and replace the empty back on the refrigerator shelf. Yes, doing “the job” is a real sore spot for me. It seems having more fridge space only provides more space to gather so much clutter. Hmmm. . . clutter in your house and clutter in your mind. . . where did I hear that?

As I think back on grandma’s words of wisdom, I now know what she was trying to tell me. It is not about having more fridge space, as more fridge space only creates the need to purchase more, which leads to making a choice of what is the best use of your time and money. As a child, I thought grandma wasted a lot of time doing unnecesaary chores. But she didn’t see them as chores at all. She loved baking and loved providing hot. and very delicious I must add, meals and treats for her family. Yes, she could have gone out into the workforce to get a job that would pay her money so she could afford the modern conveniences. But that was not grandma’s choice. For her, to stay at home home was using her time more wisely; being with and providing for her family.

Grandma would rather sit with the family on the back porch on a hot summer day and make ice cream than have several flavors waiting in the freezer. She preferred to bake bread every morning instead of storing loaves in the refrigerator and freezer. She only made enough food for a meal that could be eaten in one sitting. There were no leftovers to clutter the refrigerator as she knew her family and knew how much each would eat. I can personally say I am happy grandma made the choice she made. You see, the reason I spent so much time at grandma’s was because my mother decided she needed more fridge space.

                                

97 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2008 3:22 pm

    What a lovely post – both the sentiment and the journey back in time.

    ~Thank you for visiting today! I plan to stop by your space soon. Blessings, Cricket

  2. February 10, 2008 5:21 pm

    Hello,
    Your post got me thinking about my Grandma. She was alot like yours. She would cook on the cook stove for 50-60 people 3 times a day when my family went for a visit. She went into a Nurcing Home in 1972 and she still cooked on that wood stove. My Uncles did buy her some modern appliances and got water in the house, but not a new stove.

  3. February 10, 2008 5:31 pm

    Hi! Hope your Sunday has treated you well so far!! And, thanks for the birthday wishes!!!

  4. February 10, 2008 5:39 pm

    What a wonderful nostalgic journey!

    Welcome to OWOH. Please enter me into your drawing and be sure to stop by and join mine.

  5. February 10, 2008 5:43 pm

    I so enjoyed reading of your grandma, it broght my lots of memories for me….Please enter me in your drawing and I hope you will come over to enter mine..
    Brenda

  6. February 10, 2008 5:45 pm

    I received your link and added you to the participant list. THANK YOU for participating in this event.
    Wow, cheese eh? Now that’s a new one and oh so original. Please add my name to your draw. I do hope you’ll stop by mine as well.
    I will come back to read your Sunday Scribblings…I’m still adding new links.
    Enjoy,
    Lisa Oceandreamer

  7. February 10, 2008 5:49 pm

    Thanks for taking part in my giveaway. I love to join in yours! What a cool and unusual idea!

  8. February 10, 2008 6:04 pm

    oh wow! we have had family members bring back cheese from guggisberg after visiting your area before..it is lovely. I’d enjoy being entered in the drawing.
    thanks for the opportunity.
    Tina
    http://www.gardengoose.blogspot.com
    stop by for a visit sometime

  9. February 10, 2008 6:07 pm

    What a beautiful heartfelt writing about your Grandmother. I must say that I agree with her sentiments about modern technology. There are many things that I don’t have in my home because I enjoy the process and results of doing it the ‘hard’ way.
    I would very much like to be entered in your draw. I am a big fan of Swiss cheese.

  10. February 10, 2008 6:10 pm

    Thank you for sharing your memories of your Grandmother. She sounds like an amazingly wise woman.

    Cheese! I think this is the most interesting and unsual giveaway yet! Excellent! Count me in and make sure to visit my blog for my OWOH giveaway. Thanks!

    ~*~Nan in NJ~*~

  11. February 10, 2008 6:11 pm

    Cheese would be so good. Alas I live to far away. I thank you for the gift of your story though. I love Oma or grandma stories. Full of them myself.
    Will certainly visit you again soon.

    Ellie
    Bay of Islands New Zealand.

  12. February 10, 2008 6:18 pm

    Thanks for a lovely post and would love to be included in your draw, and do drop by and enter in my gift draw.

    Rob

  13. February 10, 2008 6:34 pm

    Please enter my name!

  14. February 10, 2008 6:51 pm

    What a wonderful giveaway! My grandma left me with some wonderul memories and words of wisdom too! I hope that I am only 1/2 the grandma that she was! Please enter me in your giveaway and check out mine too! Thank you!!

    Sherry
    http://ificouldsetmysoulfree.blogspot.com/2008/02/what-is-one-world-one-heart-it-is-blog.html

  15. February 10, 2008 7:03 pm

    what a lovely story! ooh boy! I love swiss! count me in!
    cheers,
    The Bella Modiste
    http://www.thebellamodiste.blogspot.com

  16. February 10, 2008 7:22 pm

    I love the story! The cheese sounds very yummy too!

  17. February 10, 2008 7:32 pm

    Hi Cricket, Thanks for visiting my blog and entering my book give away, please enter me in your cheese gift. ’tis wonderful. I am currently involved in an Amish Friendship Cake swap and used to make the precious amish dolls. Take care, hugs, Mollye at http://mollyedoozey.wordpress.com/

  18. February 10, 2008 7:48 pm

    I normally don’t read the prose posts but this one pulled me right in! Niicely done!

  19. February 10, 2008 7:50 pm

    yummy!! stop by mine for a chance
    melissa
    alterediva@verizon.net
    http://alterediva.blogspot.com/

  20. Angie permalink
    February 10, 2008 7:51 pm

    I have enjoyed reading your post so much! Please do enter me and I’d love for you to stop by my giveaway at quillysillyvintageboutique.blogspot.com

    Thanks!
    Angie

  21. February 10, 2008 8:02 pm

    Great reminiscences about your grandmother! Love the story & the message, too! 🙂 Please do enter me for your drawing & stop by my blog, too!

  22. February 10, 2008 8:05 pm

    Oh! and I’m a cheese lover too!

    cheers, Colette

  23. February 10, 2008 8:05 pm

    I loved your post. It of course, brought back memories as I’m sure it did for many people. Did you know experts figure we really don’t save time with all our wondrful appliances. We too busy trying to cram more into our days. Thanks for the post. Even if I don’t win the cheese, which I hope I do, it was worth the visit. I hope you have time to check my small offering.

  24. February 10, 2008 8:35 pm

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my quilled cardinal!
    I just love your blog! and I would love some cheese!
    I enjoyed your story about your Grandma – my Granny was a lot like that. She preferred to do everything her own way, too. She used a wringer washing machine and hung her clothes on the line until she died in 1970…
    I’ve enjoyed discovering new blogs through this OWOH event!
    Have fun!
    toni

    http://3amdesigns.blogspot.com/

  25. February 10, 2008 8:35 pm

    Enjoyed hearing about your Grandmother. I spent a lot of time with both my Grandmother & Great Grandmother growing up & still miss them both. I’m also a chesse lover, so count me in your drawing! Thanks

  26. February 10, 2008 8:55 pm

    GREAT giveaway! I hope I’m the lucky winner!! 🙂 I’ll be sure to save room.

    Thanks for such a great blog post..it was so moving and brought back memories of my own.

    http://bluedotfrog.blogspot.com

  27. February 10, 2008 9:21 pm

    I LOVE cheese and swiss too! Perfect.

    Cheryl

  28. February 10, 2008 9:25 pm

    great recollections. a nice read

  29. February 10, 2008 9:36 pm

    I would love to be entered into your drawing. Please feel free to sign up for mine. I’m giving away a handmade blank book.

    http://www.rusticstains.com/artblog/?p=373

  30. February 10, 2008 9:41 pm

    I would love to have this fabulous prize…yum! I would love to win, please enter me in your giveaway. I’m having a giveaway, too…please stop by 🙂

    Best Wishes,
    Julie

  31. February 10, 2008 10:03 pm

    What a wonderful idea! Please enter me into your drawing! Yum Yum!!

    Thanks
    Mickalina

    http://www.thoughts.com/mickalina/blog/my-words-61754/

  32. February 10, 2008 10:14 pm

    What a wonderful story! Please enter me for the cheese… I love cheese.

  33. February 10, 2008 10:16 pm

    Thank you for this window into the intimate world of you and your Grandmother. I miss mine so much, and your story reminds me so much of her.. and simpler times.

  34. February 10, 2008 10:41 pm

    I will clear a spot in my fridge for that round of cheese.
    Thanks!
    Sandi

  35. February 10, 2008 10:57 pm

    Thanks for sharing your memories. I love cheese! 🙂

  36. February 10, 2008 11:09 pm

    love the story-add me to your drawing too~thanks

  37. February 11, 2008 12:09 am

    Please stop by my blog as I am also in this great event. I would love to win yours!

  38. February 11, 2008 1:02 am

    Please include me in your drawing. Please visit my blog and enter my giveaway if you haven’t already. : )
    http://quiltsnmore.blogspot.com/

  39. February 11, 2008 1:10 am

    What a beautifully written piece about an ice box, the same response I had to the prompt (and thanks for visiting my site). Your grandmother’s philosophy and your later understanding of it are well expressed. It’s fun remembering, isn’t it?

  40. February 11, 2008 1:13 am

    Yum! What a nice giveaway. Thanks for allowing a moment of beautiful reminiscing!

  41. crinwil permalink
    February 11, 2008 1:55 am

    What a wonderful family memory! ..and what a terrific giveaway! come visit my draw too!
    connie
    crinwil2@yahoo.com
    cettacheese.blogspot.com/

  42. February 11, 2008 1:55 am

    Wonderful, I love cheese! Please enter my name. Would love for you to stop by and enter my OWOH giveaway. 🙂

  43. February 11, 2008 2:59 am

    What a lovely giveaway! Please enter me in your drawing…and if you haven’t already please stop by my blog and enter mine.
    OWOH!
    Patti V

  44. February 11, 2008 3:09 am

    I am a cheese addict! Nice to meet you!

  45. February 11, 2008 7:49 am

    So glad I found your blog because your writing takes me back to so many nostalgic and heartfelt memories. I lived with my grandma until I was five and she had a regular fridge as well as her old ice box she’d had forever that she kept on her back porch–it was green, the shade of which I’ll never forget.
    Nice visiting you–some of my dearest friends have been from Ohio. If you have room, I’d love to enter your contest.
    Have a wonderful week and thanks for sharing!

  46. February 11, 2008 8:01 am

    What a sweet post reminiscing about your grandmother. 🙂
    I too am participating in the OWOH event and would love an opportunity to win the Guggisberg Swiss Cheese (my so yummy). While you are wandering in bloglandia I hope that you take a gander at my giveaway too.
    Hugs, antonella 🙂
    http://www.quilling.blogspot.com

  47. February 11, 2008 8:05 am

    What a beautiful post! Thanks for sharing, would love to be included in your drawing. Stop by and checkout my offering at http://innerreflections.typepad.com
    Debby

  48. February 11, 2008 10:54 am

    Lovely post! Please include me in your drawing!

    Dagmar

  49. February 11, 2008 11:28 am

    Love the story about your grandma! So sweet! And mmm, cheese!

  50. February 11, 2008 12:22 pm

    Love cheese and your story. Thanks for signing up. Please put my name in your drawing and come stop by mine! Thank you!

  51. February 11, 2008 12:41 pm

    Funny how our modern-day “conveniences” make our lives so much more complicated. I’ve often wondered why they’re called “simpler times” when they had SO much more work to do. You’ve summed up the answer perfectly here. And just beautifully! ;o)

    Thanks for stopping by, and for your very high praise! Really appreciate it.

  52. February 11, 2008 1:40 pm

    Love cheese!
    🙂
    Please enter my name.
    Have you entered my give away? I’m “A Desert Garden” on the OWOH blog. Hope you’ll stop by!

  53. February 11, 2008 4:22 pm

    This is a neat giveaway! Love to try your baby swiss, we love cheese in our house! Enter me, too!

  54. February 11, 2008 4:44 pm

    mmmmmm I’m a cheese lover but would you send this overseas??? I hope so!! That’s if I was the lucky winner of course. Loved your story about your grandma! Please stop by at my blog, though I haven’t had a post about dutch cheese (yet).

  55. February 11, 2008 6:43 pm

    Weren’t things so different then? Love your post!

  56. February 11, 2008 6:48 pm

    Your post was a wonderful trip back in time. Please enter me in you great give away. I live in Michigan and have vacationed down near you. I loved visiting the cheese factory! I’ll be back soon to read more of your wonderful blog. Thanks.

  57. February 11, 2008 7:19 pm

    Wonderful nostalgia … the reminder of how there were no leftovers then … ohhh the days when we people didn’t live beyond their means, Love your post!

  58. Judy permalink
    February 11, 2008 9:03 pm

    Well since I’m the original cheesehead I couldn’t pass up a chance to win your delightful prize. Please enter me in your drawing.

    And THANKS for taking part.

  59. February 11, 2008 9:40 pm

    Great post, ahhhh an ice box. My husband still calls it that even though it’s not, but some habits die hard, huh? I’d love a chance to win some cheese, what a great offer! Thank you.

  60. February 11, 2008 9:43 pm

    Hard to imagine being without a fridge these days. Or with the time to bake bread very often. Makes one wonder about “progress”. Very nice post.

  61. February 11, 2008 10:19 pm

    Very wonderful post. Hard to imagine not having a fridge today, LOL. 🙂

  62. February 11, 2008 10:20 pm

    I was adding something and the internet messed up, I was going to add:

    *But, I wish sometimes that we didn’t have so much “fridge space” in our lives, some more simple things should come back, I think it would bring the country back together, and families back together, as well.*

  63. February 11, 2008 11:54 pm

    Yummy! Be sure to stop by my blog and check out my OWOH giveaway!

    Farmchick

  64. February 12, 2008 12:06 am

    Please enter me in your drawing! I’m also part of OWOH.

  65. February 12, 2008 12:43 am

    Yum, some cheese to put in my frig! Actually the week after Valentine’s is my 50th birthday. I would serve the cheese to loved ones, surely there would be little left for the frig. Lovely offering, please include me!
    Tammie

    join my giveaway:
    http://miztlee.blogspot.com/2008/02/one-heart-one-world.html

  66. February 12, 2008 1:21 am

    Thank you for sharing a beautiful memory and a great piece of advice. I really enjoyed reading about your grandmother. (you write beautifully by the way…have you ever thought of putting these memories in a book?) Now that I think about it, I haven’t wandered your complete blog yet, and perhaps you are an author. If that’s the case, then I meant my comment with all the irony I can muster at this point! 😉

    Oh…yes,….and please pick me for the cheese 😉

  67. February 12, 2008 3:31 am

    I love reading about other’s memories like that…wonderful story about your grandmother! Oh my, I would so love to win a wheel of that cheese! Please enter my name in your draw and make sure you come by my blog and enter my own giveaway if you haven’t already done so:-) xo

  68. February 12, 2008 3:43 am

    Thank you for writing such a lovely post, it really was a nice surprise as I clicked through all the blogs (and many are wonderful) to find a beautiful story…and you know what? As a woman who gave up a career I loved to stay at home and raise my two young children, I sure appreciate that story. I added your blog to my bloglines before I opted to comment…I plan on coming back to visit.
    Oh and please enter me in your giveaway if you will? Thank you.

  69. kjmt42 permalink
    February 12, 2008 5:41 am

    Oh, Yea! I would love this! Thank-you for being so generous and please include me!

    KJ
    California

  70. February 12, 2008 6:21 am

    Please include me in your One World One Heart Give Away. Thank You 🙂

  71. February 12, 2008 7:45 am

    I LOVE cheese! ha ha! Your story about your Grandmother filled me with memories of my own. She made the BEST biscuits in her wood stove! Yum with real butter and home made blackberry jam..OH Lordy! Take me back!

  72. February 12, 2008 7:53 am

    I don’t care what anyone says…cheesemaking is an artform! What a wonderful giveaway! 😀

    I’d like to enter your drawing and invite you to visit my blog and enter mine.

    Thanks,
    Staci
    http://stacirose.blogspot.com

  73. February 12, 2008 8:07 am

    Love the story!!!! Please enter me in your drawing!

  74. Crystal B. permalink
    February 12, 2008 8:12 am

    Sounds great. Please enter me in your contest.

  75. February 12, 2008 8:56 am

    You’re giving away a CHEESE?! Wow! I’d love to taste some. 😀

  76. February 12, 2008 10:08 am

    CHEESE! I adore cheese! And such a sweet post – it made my day – thank you! :):) Please enter my name – thank you!

    http://deerlove.blogspot.com

  77. Freya permalink
    February 12, 2008 12:38 pm

    YAY…..
    Cheese is one of the few things I CAN STILL actually eat!

    After being diagnosed with Celiac Disease a year ago, which necessitated a dramatic change in diet (cutting out ALL gluten), I can rejoice in being able to still enjoy treats such as this!

    Please add me to your drawing, and stop by and enter mine!

    Freya

  78. February 12, 2008 3:11 pm

    If you have not already visited my blog and entered my One World~One Heart Giveaway, please accept my invitation and do so. I would love a chance to win some yummy cheese.

  79. February 12, 2008 4:26 pm

    This is a terrific idea! Please enter my name in the drawing.

  80. kimmikat permalink
    February 12, 2008 7:05 pm

    I would love to win this…but will it travel ok to the uk?? Anyway, count me in. My link is
    http://kimmikat.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/one-world-one-heart/
    I shall come back and read more of your blog later in the week when I have recovered from this!!
    Take care, Susie.

  81. February 12, 2008 9:39 pm

    what a very cool idea please add me and stop by mine

  82. February 12, 2008 9:54 pm

    That cheese sounds delicious. I’d lo

  83. February 12, 2008 9:54 pm

    So peaceful…..Yes please enter me. I have a giveaway too.
    http://deirdradoan.blogspot.com/2008/02/one-world-one-heart-giveaway.html
    You might enjoy my husbands musical creativity too on the 20 string harpguitar.
    http:// http://www.myspace.com/jdharpguitarVery soft and pretty. Yes please enter me. I have a giveaway too.
    http://deirdradoan.blogspot.com/2008/02/one-world-one-heart-giveaway.html
    You might enjoy my husbands musical creativity too on the 20 string harpguitar.
    http:// http://www.myspace.com/jdharpguitar

  84. February 12, 2008 9:57 pm

    I’m so sorry for the double post — my finger slipped as you can see above. I was going to tell you I loved your Sunday Scribbling. My grandmother lived near Nanticoke, PA and she had a big black wood stove too. Such wonderful memories! I’ll be back to read more of your blog. I’d love a chance at winning your give away.

  85. February 13, 2008 1:24 am

    OM goodness! I LOVE CHEESE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please sign me up!!!!!!!

    Please visit my blog to see my giveaway too if you have a chance.

    Rita Bellanca
    http://atomicwarbride.blogspot.com/

  86. Angela permalink
    February 13, 2008 1:57 pm

    Please add me to your drawing! I’m participating as well, at: http://gavemyheart3162.blogspot.com/2008/02/one-world-one-heart.html

  87. stephanie anderson permalink
    February 13, 2008 3:45 pm

    Holy crap…I love cheese. My husband jokes that I would eat just about anything if it had cheese on it.

    thanks stephanie
    email aunt_rella@yahoo.com

  88. February 13, 2008 4:29 pm

    Oh my goodness – how could it get any better? I LOVE cheese, and would love to have a reminder from the days when I lived in Ohio myself. 🙂 Please count me in!

    And if you like, please do stop by my blog to enter the drawing for a series of my own art prints at http://thisgirlremembers.wordpress.com/2008/02/06/one-world-one-heart-giveaway/

  89. February 13, 2008 7:04 pm

    please enter me and come on over to my blog and enter my giveaway i lovvvvvvve cheese

  90. February 13, 2008 7:35 pm

    what an awesome memory. and yummy looking cheese.

    -angela in oregon
    funkycatstudio.com

  91. February 13, 2008 10:20 pm

    I LOVE your giveaway – very original! And the memory was great.

  92. tracy permalink
    February 13, 2008 10:47 pm

    please sign me up for this wheel of cheese!!! i’ve truly enjoyed all of these great art blogs!! it is inspiring me!! thanks, tracy
    ps. i’m from wisc. i love cheese!!!

  93. February 14, 2008 2:58 am

    Mmmmm cheese! Please count me in!

    I enjoyed reading about cleaning out the fridge…and gma’s wisdom. 🙂

    http://bigbluefrog.wordpress.com/

  94. February 14, 2008 6:28 pm

    Beautiful post. Made me nostalgic.

  95. February 14, 2008 10:45 pm

    I have totally loved this posting. But more! Your blog is a wonderful space in the blogosphere! Totally enjoyed wandering round! And in my wanders, found you had listed me on the left! I was totally shocked and overwhelmed! Thank you heaps and heaps! (Now I have written 3 totally’s and that last one really makes 4! LOL) O help! And thank you for your posting to my poem on “Changed”. And yes! You WILL write more poetry! LOL

    Smiles and Light

    P.S. Thatmust be the most muddled post I have ever written. Boil itdown to shock! LOL

  96. February 16, 2008 1:03 am

    I don’t see either winner responding….. so I wondered if it wasn’t too late to enter for your next drawing. I LOVE cheese!!!! What a HUGE gift this would be! If it’s not to late… enter me! If it is – well Kuddo’s on offering a unique and treasured prize!

Trackbacks

  1. What a week! « CREATIVE RAINBOWS

Leave a Reply

