Skip to content

Thursday Thirteen #5: Holding Hands

February 13, 2008

hearts-holding-hands1.jpgValentine’s Day is upon us and I suspect many TT’s will pay homage to this holiday of love. I also want to express my sentiments of this loving holiday, but from a slightly different perspective: Holding Hands  

I believe holding hands is the purest of all acts of intimacy. To hold that special someone’s hand is to offer them a public and physical sign of your affection. Holding the hand of a friend in a time of need provides a blanket of comfort in a time when security seems so far away. There are very few things more innocent than a child taking the hand of a parent, looking for direction, or possibly protection from the unknown. Unlike the days of my youth, children of today are closer and more outwardly affectionate to their parents, mostly because parents are more comfortable showing and receiving affection. I truly believe holding the hand of a child gives them a connection to your heart. There is something magical about seeing adult children and their elderly parents holding hands, and not just for balance or support as they try to portray, but aslo as a sign of love. And of course, romance would not be romance without the holding of hands.

As the Beatles sang back in 1963, “When I’ll feel that something, I want to hold your hand.”  What do you feel when viewing these pictures of Holding Hands?

         Thirteen Things about Cricket’s Hearth: Holding Hands

1.  hh4.jpg    2. hh6.jpg

3. holding-hands-3.jpg    4.  hh8.jpg 

5. holding-hands-15.jpg         6.  holding-hands-13.jpg

7.  hh12.jpg         8.  holding-hands-9.jpg

9. holding-hands-4.jpg        10.  holding-hands-12.jpg   

11. holding-hands-10.jpg 

12. holding-hands-5.jpg                                                     

13.  hh11.jpg

  Happy Valentine’s Day all ! Hold someone’s hand today!

For more Thursday Thirteen adventures, check out these:

~ Nicholas ~ Chelle Y ~ Adelle Laudan ~ Chuck ~ Morgan ~ SandyCarlson   ~ Comedy Plus ~ West of Mars ~ LeeAnn ~ Journey Woman ~ Amy the Black ~ MaryBeth ~ jehara ~ tink ~ slip of a girl ~ Darla ~ tasha ~ Saria ~ Robin ~ Lynne ~ OneLuvGurl ~ Sharon ~ Brenda ND ~ Karina ~ Laura ~ Marcia V ~

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

36 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2008 7:03 pm

    A good selection of photos. Hand holding for love, comfort, reassurance and I’m not sure what. I like several of those.

  2. February 13, 2008 7:46 pm

    The last picture is my favorite. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my TT! You said that Brad Paisley is a nice guy. Did you ever meet him? I imagine him to be because he has kind eyes.

  3. February 13, 2008 8:03 pm

    Very nice. Great collection of pics.
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. February 13, 2008 8:23 pm

    Love this post. You couldn’t be more right. And the lovely, emotional comment you left on my blog only makes me wonder what you’ve been thru in your life as well. I would love to hear about it. Wonder if that could happen. Take care.

  5. February 13, 2008 8:29 pm

    I love numbers 9 and 13. Wonderful pictures! Happy TT!

  6. February 13, 2008 8:53 pm

    No. 13 warms my heart. This is a beautiful post. God bless.

  7. February 13, 2008 9:04 pm

    My husband and I are hand holders. I love it. Very well done. Have a great TT and Valentine’s Day. 🙂

  8. Ellen permalink
    February 13, 2008 9:38 pm

    Oh what a wonderful TT this is. Just beautiful.

  9. February 13, 2008 10:00 pm

    Oh, what a gorgeous post. I hope the Tour Manager and I hold hands still when we are old and tottering.

    Happy TT!

  10. February 13, 2008 10:23 pm

    Beautiful!

  11. February 13, 2008 10:42 pm

    Oh I’ll
    Tell you Something
    I think you’ll understand
    When I feel that something
    I wanna hold your hand…..

    Happy TT!

  12. February 13, 2008 11:04 pm

    Very nice.

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  13. February 13, 2008 11:26 pm

    Wonderful. Thank you! Please visit my TT Edition #80.

  14. February 13, 2008 11:58 pm

    I couldn’t see all of your pictures(for some reason some were cut off) but the ones I saw were beautiful.
    Holding hands says it all
    Thanks for a great TT

  15. February 14, 2008 12:05 am

    what a wonderful homage. i love holding hands. my favorite is the couple on the beach.

  16. February 14, 2008 4:47 am

    Your post makes me feel warm inside, all glowing!
    Thanks for visiting my poem TT.

  17. February 14, 2008 5:48 am

    Very cute and romantic. The growing old holding hands is a very warm n fuzzy image 🙂

  18. February 14, 2008 8:38 am

    Well done, hand holding cures lots, beautiful post, Thank YOU!

  19. February 14, 2008 9:29 am

    Those were beautiful and evocative. I liked the variety, showing many different images of love. Nice post!

  20. February 14, 2008 10:46 am

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Beautiful photos…thanks for sharing,

    Phyl

  21. February 14, 2008 10:48 am

    Such a beautiful list! I’ve always felt that way about hand-holding, too. Happy Love Day!

  22. February 14, 2008 10:50 am

    I love the list what a wonderful idea! Have a great day and week 😉
    Sarai
    http://www.saraij.blogspot.com

  23. February 14, 2008 11:14 am

    What a beautiful post. Seeing my young child’s hand in mine is my absolutely most favorite part of parenting. Even better than the I love you’s (though I’ll take as many of those as I can get, too!).

  24. February 14, 2008 11:57 am

    How sweet! I love seeing older couples holding hands. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  25. February 14, 2008 12:41 pm

    My favorite is #8! I know when I get to be that age, most people my own age won’t be with someone else with divorce on the rise!

    My TT is 13 love songs that you can listen to in the post. Happy TT & Valentine’s!

    http://blog.mysocalledsite.com/?p=220

  26. February 14, 2008 1:23 pm

    These are beautiful! I esp. love the one w/ the pregnant belly. So uniqe. 🙂
    And the child one…I just love that, too. My oldest is quickly outgrowing wanting to hold my hand, and I already miss it.

    Happy TT & Happy Valentine’s Day!

  27. February 14, 2008 2:02 pm

    Very unique idea! Happy TT!

  28. February 14, 2008 3:33 pm

    What a beautiful post! I agree, holding hands has a special magic to it that no other form of affection can express quite so simply. Just beautiful!

  29. February 14, 2008 3:58 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day! Good pictures….Happy T-13!

  30. February 14, 2008 5:55 pm

    wow this is so like a post I would do Great minds think alike!!! In fact it is hands that i collect pictures of I think next to eyes they speak of who you are and will post about that some day soon–
    Good list–Have a fun Valentines Day
    http://joyismygoal.blogspot.com/

  31. February 14, 2008 8:21 pm

    I am glad u like the picture cube:). If u get an account(free) at http://picturetrail.com you can make one, too!

    Phyl

    ~Cool – thanks for the tip! Blessings, Cricket

  32. February 14, 2008 9:04 pm

    great list & pics. holding hands makes me feel safe. i love holding my husband’s hand while we’re watching movies. today while on a field trip with my daughters class i noticed how many of them held hands. so pure & innocent & sweet.

  33. February 14, 2008 10:05 pm

    I’ve totally not done Thursday Thirteen just because the code thing is so confusing to me…. BUT my post today was about holding hands anyway! Wish I would have joined in. Great post though, I enjoyed reading it.

  34. February 15, 2008 8:20 am

    Oh, I had to fight back the tears on this wonderful post. . .and it brought to mind some long forgotten memories of holding hands including possibly the last one of your photos :O). . . Many thanks for sharing!

  35. February 15, 2008 4:53 pm

    Hello, What a powerful post on holding hands. I believe as you do when you hold a child’s hand. The picture of the older couple is what I want to look like when I get to be that age.

    Love and Hugs,
    Joyce

  36. February 24, 2008 12:43 pm

    These are all lovely images! I’m glad I found them (albeit a bit late).
    Hugs and blessings,

Leave a Reply

