Skip to content

Know & Tell Friday

February 15, 2008

know-tell-friday.jpgKnow & Tell Friday is a meme hosted by To Know Him in which she presents a series of questions for us to answer. I have enjoyed participating in this meme because her questions are a combination of just for fun and thought provoking. They make me look inside myself. This week’s questions are:

Question 1
Did you eat candy this Valentine’s Day?
I did not think about it until just now, but I did not have candy for Valentine’s Day. I did treat dad and I to Kentucky Fried Chicken for dinner though.

Question 2
What is something you do to relax?
Dad got me a stereo a year ago for Christmas. I like to turn it on in the evening and lay on my bed and look out the window. I always sleep so well if I take the time to relax doing this before falling to sleep.

Question 3
(From Poole’s book) What is the best approach for resolving conflict?
I have learned, the hard way I should add, to take a step back and remove myself from the conflict if possible. I like having time to think and pray about the best way to deal with the situation. I used to take the “you get in my face, I will get in yours” approach to conflict. That definitely is not the most productive solution. It ususally just makes matters worse.

Question 4
(Poole’s book again) How would you define “freedom”? (this could probably be a bonus question).
The very first thing that came to mind when reading this was, I am free from cigarettes!. I quit smoking last August and what a relief it has been. I can remember being so bound to cigarettes – always thinking about where I could or could not smoke; only going to certain restaurants which permitted smoking; making sure I had enough cigarettes to get me through the night or the weekend or whatever time frame situation that might limit my access to getting cigarettes; making sure I had enough money to buy the cigarettes – making the budget stretch to include $90 out of every paycheck just for cigarettes. I now have the freedom from cigarettes – and what a great feeling it is!

Question 5
(Poole’s book) On a scale of 1-10, how happy do you usually feel? Explain.
Hmmm. . . If I were completely honest, I would have to say probably a 5. I have definitely been lower in happiness in my life, but I still have a long way to go. I like my job, but it is not my dream job. It is basically a 9-5 type job. I am very “comfortable” there, no real surprises or challenges. I truly prefer a challenge. I am also quite comfortable living with dad. No real expectations are asked of me, except to have dinner on the table each night. I guess I am basically lonely. I have people around me at work and of course dad at home each night, but I miss having that special someone in my life.

Bonus Questions
Question 6
If you could choose one “SIN” that you would never have to struggle with for the rest of your life what would it be?
  Wow, now this is a question! I guess I would have to choose pride. I think I have struggled with pride ever since I was a child in grade school. I used to stutter, which cause me so much pain from being laughed at and made fun of. Once I taught myself to quit stuttering, I vowed no one was ever going to laugh at me again. I have gone to great lenghths to be an over-achiever in my life, to prove to others I was better than what they thought. I guess I was, and still am, trying to prove it to myself.

Question 7
What is one thing that breaks your heart?
It truly breaks my heart to hear about a child being molested or raped. I know personally what that does to a person, how it affects the entire rest of their life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2008 11:22 am

    Your answers were touching this week (I think last week too :). Giving you a shout out about the cigarettes!!!! 🙂 Awesome. I am sure that being lonely is a hard road… I remember times in my life when I felt the same way. I only wish back then I would have turned to the Lord in my lonely state… I tried to fill the lonely places with a lot of junk. Blessings, and I have been touched by your answers. Please come back next week!!

  2. February 16, 2008 2:31 pm

    I gave happiness a 5, too. I’m glad for the question, though. It’s helping me to analyze why I said 5 and to see if I can make any changes. I’m sorry that you feel lonely. I hear you on that one, too. And I have 5 kids around me all day long. But I think that I am lonely for interaction with other Christian women. I can’t wait to get back to church for the fellowship. It’s been about 3 weeks. (My husband has been out of town working and he has the car.) I think that I had better try your method for relaxing. I’ve been tossing and turning and not sleeping.

  3. February 16, 2008 11:56 pm

    Love your answers:).

    Hugs…Phyl

Leave a Reply

