Skip to content

Sunday Scribblings: Tribute to the Sleepers of this World

February 17, 2008

The prompt for this week’s Sunday Scribblings is sleep. As I tossed and turned this evening trying to get to sleep, I thought about those people who never seem to have a problem falling to sleep, regardless of where they are or what they are doing. I thought, since I couldn’t sleep anyways, I would pay tribute to those who are:

Tribute to the Sleepers of the World

 

Now I lay me down to sleep,

sleep22.jpg

 

I pray this computer won’t beep,

sleep151.jpg

 

Because I tried so hard to stay awake,

sleep161.jpg

 

But there is only so much one person can take,

sleep41.jpg

 

And so Lord, when I wake with the morning dew,

sleep51.jpg

 

I promise, the rest of this food I will chew.

sleep91.jpg

 

I only ask Lord, that you have them spare my ear,

sleep-14.jpg

 

And their snoring, we don’t have to hear.

sleep101.jpg

 

I will go to sleep quietly, crying there will be not

sleep8.jpg

 

I only pray Lord, for your help so I don’t fall off this pot!

sleep12.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2008 1:54 am

    I’m one of those un-natural creatures that lies down, close my eyes and has a good eight hours. Today, I cooked my mother’s meals for the week -(she’s getting quite frail) so I didn’t even make it past 3 in the afternoon. I had a two hour zzzzzzzzzzzzz and will be quite happy to go to sleep again at 9.30pm. You are lucky you don’t waste all that valuable time just sleeping.

    Ellie

  2. February 17, 2008 4:49 am

    Lovely words and great pics. If sleeping were a sport I’d have a gold medal!

  3. February 17, 2008 7:22 am

    I am totally jealous of all those sleepers. I am a chronic insomniac. If I had 3 wishes one of them would be to have the ability to fall asleep anywhere, anytime. Bliss!

  4. February 17, 2008 12:49 pm

    This was so funny, I loved it…I had to call my husband over to the computer monitor to see the picks whilie I read the piece to him! Thank you for putting a great big smilie on our faces!!!

  5. February 17, 2008 1:12 pm

    Love the poem and pics…lol. Hubby used to say I was the only person he knew of that could fall asleep before my head hit the pillow.

    Hugs…Phyl

  6. February 17, 2008 2:29 pm

    Love it!

  7. February 17, 2008 3:16 pm

    Funny pics! 🙂 Love it! 🙂

  8. February 17, 2008 4:39 pm

    Oh, I love this! Absolutely too funny and clever, as well!

  9. February 17, 2008 11:19 pm

    Hello,
    I am a person like you. I have to think about yesterday, today, and tomorrow. My Hubby is one that puts His head down and is out. Your pictures are so cute. Are some of them family? Have a good week.

    Love and Hugs,
    Joyce

    ~ Hi Joyce, Thank you for the visit. Ohhh, no, none of the pictures are mine. I found them on the web. It was hard to choose between so many, especially the baby pictures. Blessings, Cricket

  10. February 18, 2008 6:59 am

    Your post is so good. I loved the photos!

    Thanks.

    snooze time, baby!

  11. February 18, 2008 7:41 am

    Wonderful! reminded me of my daughters falling asleep anywhere. . .and now my narcoleptic husband as well. What fun. Thanks for sharing!

  12. February 18, 2008 7:43 am

    Me too, I mean the non-sleep part. 🙂

  13. February 18, 2008 11:22 am

    Hello Cricket, When you have time stop by, I have a award for you. Have a great day.

    Love and Hugs,
    Joyce

  14. February 19, 2008 4:58 pm

    Oh my goodness I LOVE the last one!…and as much as I hate to admit it, I’ve actually fallen asleep (or nearly) in the same location! lol

  15. February 24, 2008 12:28 pm

    Fabulous sleep images and words.

    I thought I’d commented last week but apparently I didn’t – sorry.

Leave a Reply

