Skip to content

Thursday Thirteen #6: 13 Traits of a Good Employer

February 20, 2008

I am a Human Resource Manager for a small manufacturing company in a rural Ohio community. I fully understand my dual role as an employee advocate to assist and promote staff member development and success, while being a strategic business partner to ensure my company’s goals, vision, and objectives are achieved. There are many books and articles available offering advice on how best to achieve the dual roles of an HR manager. I have over 20 years experience in mastering this art and I believe true success for the employee and the employer begins with the employer. I believe a “Good Employer” must demonstrate the following traits if they want to secure and retain “Good Employees.” 

 

Thirteen Things about Cricket’s Hearth: 13 Traits of a Good Employer

  1. Offer a collaborative work environment, give employees the opportunity to actually “be a part of the team” not just on the team.
  2. Provide employees with constructive feedback, whether the feedback is of a positive nature or that of a disciplinary action, it must be presented in a manner conducive to promoting growth in the employee.
  3. Pay a competitive salary with benefits that provide real value to the employee. 
  4. Be committed to the community, be a corporate citizen and support organizations your employees are involved in.
  5. Prop the Open Door Policy open so it doesn’t slam shut when an employee needs to report an issue.
  6. Be flexible as much as “humanly” possible in working hours, employees do have another life outside the workplace and have real life issues they need to attend to from time to time   
  7. Provide an opportunity for the employee to advance through training, both on-the-job and in the classroom.
  8. Provide a safe workplace by demanding a safe workforce.
  9. Recognize and reward accomplishments, a pat on the back and a gift card to a favorite restaurant in the hand.
  10. Be an employer your employees can be proud of, pay your bills like you want your employees to arrive at work, on time.
  11. Provide challenging and interesting work, just because you like Sam in shipping doesn’t mean Sam likes being in shipping.
  12. Turn the heat up on America’s melting pot, be truly diversified by hiring the best qualified for the job not quota-fied for the job.
  13. Be honest and straight forward, don’t tell employees what they want to hear, tell them what they need to hear.

Enjoy more Thursday Thirteen posts at:

~ Chelle Y ~ Marcia V ~ Miss Wisabuss ~ Ellen ~ Nicholas ~ Di ~ Buck Naked Politics ~ The Gal Herself ~ Flying Monkey ~ Keith Hillman (no TT but some great writing) ~ Malcomb ~ Morgan ~ Sandy Carlson ~ Candy ~ Melanie ~ West of Mars ~ On a Limb with Ckaudia ~ Chocolate After Supper ~ Tidbits & Treasures ~ OneLuvGurl ~ Lynne ~ Storyteller ~ Maggie – Phil ~

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2008 6:12 pm

    I have had some really good employers in my life.

  2. February 20, 2008 6:13 pm

    Good advice wish that all bosses would have a copy i will give it to my hubby

  3. February 20, 2008 6:25 pm

    Very nice list. I would love to have a boss that followed these guidelines.

    Happy TT!

  4. Ellen permalink
    February 20, 2008 6:38 pm

    It sounds like you know of what you speak! I bet your employer is happy to have you as an employee…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/02/20/tt-22-mission-san-buenaventura-1782/

  5. February 20, 2008 6:46 pm

    If only all employers would follow #3. But of course most offer only the bare minimum they can get away with.

  6. February 20, 2008 7:27 pm

    Very good. I always tried to do this when I had my business. I was accused of letting everyone walk all over me, but my employees were happy.

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  7. February 20, 2008 7:42 pm

    Catch people doing something right more often than you catch people doing something wrong.

    And remember that the paycheck is WAY down on the list of why people stay at a particular job.

  8. February 20, 2008 7:54 pm

    those are all excellent points. Happy TT.

  9. February 20, 2008 7:56 pm

    I loved this list! I work in advertising, where we have (more than) our share of bottom dwellers. I worked for one agency, though, that was run by a completely scrupulous, honorable man and I was so PROUD to be in his employ. He retired a multimillionaire, and I think a lot of his happy later years are directly attributable to karma. I wish every company principal lived by your list!

  10. Flying Monkey permalink
    February 20, 2008 7:56 pm

    My husbands company WAS that way.

    great list, I enjoyed it very much! Come check out the NASTIEST THING over on my blog!

  11. February 20, 2008 8:02 pm

    As with most things in life you reap what you sow. That applies to management as much as it does in your personal life

  12. oknatalie permalink
    February 20, 2008 8:20 pm

    If all companies followed these guidelines… well, it’s already been commented on, hasn’t it?

    Happy TT!

  13. February 20, 2008 8:41 pm

    I am lucky in the fact that the company I work for covers everything on your list. Have a great day.

  14. February 20, 2008 9:05 pm

    Nice list. I wish that all employers would read it. LOL. 🙂

  15. February 20, 2008 9:07 pm

    No. 3 I think has gone the way of the dinosaur! This is a great list.

  16. February 20, 2008 9:29 pm

    This is a must-read for all employers. :o)

  17. February 20, 2008 10:26 pm

    great traits!

  18. February 20, 2008 10:48 pm

    I’m so glad I’m my own boss. But when I get to the point where I can have people under me, I’ll remember this. Good stuff here.

  19. February 20, 2008 11:03 pm

    Nice. This is really well done. I like that so many of your ideas aren’t expensive. They simply take intention – or the intention to do it. I also don’t believe profit sharing does anything nice. I’ve worked in places where the teams worked new employees (nonshares) like dogs, then fired them when it was time to share. Not nice.

    Happy TT! 🙂

  20. February 20, 2008 11:21 pm

    Thank you. That’s a helpful list.

  21. February 21, 2008 2:02 am

    Good words! My daughter could use the help of #3! She’s been in her office the longest, does everything, yet makes the least and needs it the most with 4 children at home, and a single Mom.

  22. February 21, 2008 3:37 am

    These are wonderful points and they work in business both large and small. I know a few folks starting new businesses and have copied it for them. Thank you.

    ~X

  23. February 21, 2008 9:00 am

    Wish my boss would read this list! Happy TT!

    Mine is here: http://blog.mysocalledsite.com/?p=240
    13 Funny jokes about men!

  24. savvyprchick permalink
    February 21, 2008 9:31 am

    LOVE that list.
    Mine is 13 Reasons I’m Tired of Winter. Happy TT!

  25. February 21, 2008 10:34 am

    Hello, I am going to read this over and take them to heart if I ever become a Human Resource person. All are very interesting and so true.

    Love and Hugs,
    Joyce

  26. February 21, 2008 11:46 am

    Very good list that any employer should read!

  27. February 21, 2008 11:57 am

    This is an excellent list indeed. Fortunately I’m no longer looking for an employer since I’m “happily retired” … but know some folks who might benefit from reading this list. Thanks for sharing.
    Hugs and blessings,

  28. February 21, 2008 3:06 pm

    Ah, all so, so, so very, very true! I also like where Di said “Catch people doing something right more often than you catch people doing something wrong. And remember that the paycheck is WAY down on the list of why people stay at a particular job.” If only every employer followed this advice, there would be so many more employees going above and beyond and actually making the employer look that much better and be that much more efficient.

  29. February 21, 2008 4:19 pm

    This is a credit to your experience in your field. And I agree wholeheartedly. I especially appreciate the open door policy, across the board.
    I’ve tagged you. . .stop by and see.
    Have a lovely weekend — its almost here!

  30. February 22, 2008 7:43 pm

    You asked where I find all the cute things with my name one. My daughter who loves me makes or gets them from friends. She has what is called an always list…which means if u sign up, you will always get any tag she makes. I can send u the link if u want. it is a low volume list…only she posts.

Leave a Reply

