Skip to content

Know & Tell Friday

February 22, 2008

know-and-tell1.jpgKnow & Tell Friday is a meme hosted by To Know Him in which she presents a series of questions for us to answer. I have enjoyed participating in this meme because her questions are a combination of just for fun and thought provoking. They make me look inside myself. This week’s questions are: 

Question 1
1. Do you read or study best in silence or in a place with background noise?
Why? I really do not have a preference. I like having music in the background when I am doing most anything.

2. If you were to write a book about your life, what would it be called? I am writing a book based on my first marriage. It is called, “Unholy Matrimony” . 

3. (This question is a deep one…I know it should be a bonus, but I already have a few bonus questions chosen for this week) Why do you think divorce is so prevalent? Having been divorced twice, I guess I qualify as a bit of an expert here. I was married to my first husband for 22 years. I primarily stayed as long as I did because I had been taught “once you make your bed you lie in it regardless of how wrinkled the sheets get.” It was a horrible marriage (see question 2) but I endurred it as long as I could. The failing of my second marriage was basically due to us getting married too fast – we had only known each other 2 months – I was very lonely and he was very attentive, something I was not used to. Needless to say, once the newness and the sex wore off, there was very little left.

4. What’s the best way to resist peer pressure? I told my children and now my grandchildren, friends will come and friends will go, but you have to live with yourself and your actions forever.  

5. What is the most serious illness or injury you ever faced?  I also have been fortunate to be a healthy person, at least physically. I have had my bouts with depression.

Bonus Questions
6. When was the last time you felt like you had a laugh with God?
This is a great question. I am trying to think of an example, but one eludes me now. However, I have found myself
on numerous occasions stating, “Now that is proof God has a sense of humor.”

7. This question was inspired by a friend. My friend went through a very tragic experience, and I so wanted to comfort her, but did not have the words too (GP, right or wrong usage of the too?). I had a conversation with her at a later date and asked her what do you say to someone when they are going through a tragedy, because I know that people say the wrong things even when there intentions were good. So, here is my question…. What do you say to someone who is going through a tragic or hard time? It is hard knowing the right words to say during tough times. I usually just give a hug and say I am here if and when you need me. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2008 10:34 pm

    Thanks again for participating… I have so enjoyed reading everyone’s answers this week (well, all the weeks). Blessings to you!!

  2. February 26, 2008 5:12 pm

    Great answer to #4! Isn’t that the truth.

Leave a Reply

