Skip to content

Thursday Thirteen #7: A Snowman’s Life Isn’t Easy

February 27, 2008

I have been fairly vocal about my dislike for snow. Having lived in Ohio all of my life, one would think I would have gotten used to that white, cold stuff. Actually, it is not that I dislike snow in and of itself, but all the crappy stuff that happens because of it – slippery roads to deal with in the early morning hours going to work, having to shovel the sidewalk when I get home from work, colder temperatures mean higher heat bills and warmer clothing, and I have to wear a coat. Yes, I could easily come up with thirteen complaints about snow for this week’s Thursday Thirteen, but then I thought; What about the snowman? I bet he must have some complaints of his own. And sure enough, he does.  Guess I shouldn’t complain so much about the snow!

  

Thirteen Things about Cricket’s Hearth: A Snowman’s Life is Not Easy – His Top 13 Complaints

1. snowman.jpg Every year, the same old top hat, geez someone should pass the word – top hats went out in the 50’s! And what’s with the broom? Duh…wouldn’t a shovel be more appropriate?!?

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2. snowman-4.jpgJust because the average American gains 5-7 pounds every year doesn’t mean they have to pass their bad habits onto me!

 

 

 

 

 

 3. snowman-2.jpg Oh man, why can’t my family home have normal kids instead of those creative types?

 

 

 

 

 

4. snowman-3.jpg Oh, the shame, the shame! It’s that ##^%# Johnson’s dog – no respect I tell ya!! No respect for the lowly snowman.

 

 

 

 

5. snowman-6.jpgAlways kisses from little girls – why can’t they make a decent SnowWoman? I wish my family home had some of those creative type kids!

 

 

6. snowman-5.jpgHey, hey Johnson’s dog – stop right there! I saw what you did to Frosty next door. Stop it !  Stop it I tell ya!!!

 

 

 

 

7. snowman8.jpgI’m freezing my buttons off out here!

 

 

 

 

 

8. snowman-10.jpgThe little brat comes outside for 10 minutes and he gets a parka with snowpants, a hat under that hood, gloves and snowboots… I’m out here all night and I get a scarf and a cap?

 

 

 

9. snowman-7.jpgEvery year I tell em, don’t use tree branches for arms. Those ##^^$*# birds sit on them and poop on me. Isn’t it bad enough I have to contend with Johnson’s dog?

 

 

10. snowman-11.jpgWhy do people think they have to find creative places to build me? I wouldn’t be having this problem if I was in their backyard.

 

 

 

11. snowman-14.jpgJust one year it would be nice to have a neck, a shorter nose and a waistline!

 

 

 

 

12. snowman-9.jpgFirst they tell me I don’t get the royalties for Frosty the Snowman, then they slap chunks of coal in my eyes, and then stick that carrot up my nose . . . and they think I should smile?

 

 

 

 

13. snowman-13.jpgAnd after putting up with Johnson’s dog and those dang birds, then March arrives! I’m melting, I’m meltingggggg!!!! Oh what a life a Snowman has!

Snowman

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2008 5:38 pm

    I thought I liked each successive one the best and then I realized I like them all the best!

  2. February 27, 2008 5:54 pm

    I really like those! Very, very funny! 🙂 LOL, happy Thursday!

  3. February 27, 2008 6:19 pm

    Great job!!! Very creative. I like the snowball splat at the end! Have a great TT!

  4. Ellen permalink
    February 27, 2008 6:33 pm

    How creatively wonderful your TT is! Loved all the images and story lines…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/02/27/olivas-adobe-ventura-california/

  5. February 27, 2008 6:53 pm

    #s 3 and 6!!!!! What a hoot.

    My 13 this week is just thirteen new headers I made if you’d like to drop by and take one or all. They’re free. lol

  6. February 27, 2008 8:38 pm

    This is just plain adorable. Well, except for the Johnson’s dog. Very clever and very well done. Have a great TT. 🙂

  7. February 27, 2008 8:43 pm

    Okay, it’s cute!

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

  8. February 27, 2008 8:50 pm

    That’s great! I love it!

  9. February 27, 2008 9:11 pm

    Those are so cute! Love them!

  10. February 27, 2008 9:36 pm

    Man, Cricket, those are a HOOT! So funny and clever on your part.

    Thanks! Have a great TT!

  11. February 27, 2008 10:04 pm

    Oh, those are so fun! Happy T-13!

  12. February 27, 2008 10:17 pm

    Very cute.

  13. happyhousewife permalink
    February 27, 2008 10:51 pm

    Too funny~
    Happy TT

  14. February 27, 2008 11:00 pm

    We’ve only had one day where the snow was good for snowpeople – but what a snowperson we made! Of course, it was toppled in an hour by a couple boys…. sigh….

    Happy TT!

  15. February 27, 2008 11:50 pm

    I am so sick of snow too! Those are some really creative snowmen! Thanks for the smiles!

  16. February 28, 2008 1:03 am

    Very very funny. It’s been about 30 years since I’ve seen enough snow to build a snow man. Happy TT.

  17. February 28, 2008 2:01 am

    how funny I love snowmen

  18. February 28, 2008 10:43 am

    I died laughing at the dog! Those poor snowmen. Great TT.

  19. February 28, 2008 11:07 am

    Oh how funny! Thanks for sharing these pictures and comments. I love #3, 6, and 9 best … but they’re all wonderful.
    Hugs and blessings,

  20. February 28, 2008 1:45 pm

    how fun was this! i now don’t miss the snow any longer…actually, thinking about laying in the sun today….*ahem* sorry.

  21. February 28, 2008 2:31 pm

    Those were awesome! Love it! Appeals to my odd sense of humor. You’re welcome to visit my blog on more sarcastic winter fun! Have a great day.

  22. February 29, 2008 8:09 am

    LOL those are hysterical!!! I am sooo tired of the snow and yet we are getting more as I type…ugh!

  23. March 1, 2008 9:53 pm

    What a cute list!
    We don’t get much snow here in central Oklahoma.

    Happy (belated) TT!

  24. March 2, 2008 4:34 pm

    Funny list, so cute!
    Thanks for visiting my TT trees slideshow.

  25. March 4, 2008 9:58 am

    That was great!

Leave a Reply

