Skip to content

The Ultimate Blog Party!

March 11, 2008

Ultimate Blog Party 2008

I have seen this banner, or versions of it, on several blogs for the past several weeks. I paid a visit to the site to find out what all the hoopla was about and learned that twins sisters, Susan and Janice, from the blog 5 Minutes for Mom, are hosting this online party that so far has well over 1000 party-goers! Cool beans! Basically the party is all about bloggers (they are primarily targeting stay-at-home-moms, but I’m crashing their party) getting to know one another by visiting each others sites. Of course there are prizes, lots of prizes to be won. So without further ado, please help yourself to cup of coffee (I do have wine and I think a couple of beers in the frig) and grab some cheese & crackers and make yourself comfortable . . .

I am a mid-50’s, working 9-5’er grandmother of 5; Torrey, Colton, Caleb, Maggi, and Brevin. I was very fortunate to have raised 2 children, a son Jamie and a daughter Kelli. I say fortunate because I had a difficult time completing pregnancies, as I had six. I still find it amazing that my children are grown and even my grandchildren are growing faster than I would like. Torrey will be driving this year – Lord have mercy on us all! Actually she is a wonderful girl, very down-to-earth, loving and caring, just not always the most focused when it comes to details. I am known as the “science fair grandma” as I love to help my grandchildren with their science fair projects. If you need any tips for project ideas, just ask.

I began blogging in late December of last year. I have enjoyed getting to know other bloggers and participating in memes. I love to write, especially about things that have happened throughout my life. You may want to check out the posts under my categories of Writer’s Island, Sunday Scribblings and Grandma’s Wisdom to get a feel for who I am. Some would say I have had more than my share of hard times, and I suppose they are correct, but I have lived through them and as my grandmother would say, “if it doesn’t kill you it will make you stronger.” So I am a much stronger person today, and getting stronger everyday.

I live in rural Holmes County, Ohio – home to the largest settlement of Amish in the world. For those who do not know about Amish, it is easier to describe them as kin to Quakers. Because of the facination to the Amish lifestyle (no electric, no inside toilets, their dress, no refrigerators, etc), Holmes County is the second largest tourist attraction in Ohio. Thus, a large percentage of our county’s economy is based on tourism. We have wonderful cheese houses, bakeries, craft stores, antique shops, quality furniture stores and many restaurants. If you are searching for new place for a family vacation, Holmes County would be a great trip. We have Amish farms where your children can pet farm animals and take buggy rides. We even have two exotic animal safari-type farms. Holmes County is a great place to visit.

In addition to this blog, I am getting ready to debut a second one. It will be a weekly meme featuring writings from people just like you about different pieces of your life. These pieces are things like going to the prom, a fight disagreement with your husband, first day of school, etc. The blog is called Slice of Life Sunday and it will be up and running by March 23rd. Basically, each week I will list three life events and you may choose one (or more) to write about. Besides being a regular meme, my goal is to take all the writings I receive and turn them into a book (and yes, I will share any monies I make on my book with those who submit writings). In addition to the writings, this blog will also feature information and recipies for all kinds of pies. Anyone who has ever left a comment on my blog will receive an official announcement and invitation to join in.

I also want to say Happy Birthday to a dear blogging friend, Phyl at Scrappy and Happy in Ohio. She is having a birthday give-away you don’t want to miss! 
Act quickly! This Give-A-Way ends at 9:00 a.m. EST on Tuesday, March 11, 2008. For more information, click the image.

I hope you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and “set a spell.” Have fun blog-hopping through The Ultimate Blog Party!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2008 4:00 am

    Nice to meet you! We last lived in Dayton area (Tipp City) and LOVED rural Ohio. My soul was just at peace there. Well, nice post! I’m looking forward to someday getting to be a grandmother Lord willing. Now I’m in the trenches of full time motherhood. Glad you crashed the sahm thing! I like knowing all sorts of folks!

  2. March 11, 2008 4:12 am

    Helllllloooooooooo! Welcome to the party! What a great opportunity to make some new bloggy friends!

    One of my favorite annual events is visit a similar area in Indiana that has a significant Amish population. A group of us go over for shopping & wind up the day with dinner in an Amish home. It’s an amazing experience. Sometimes I’d like to trade the suburban hustle & bustle for the simple life.

    Peek in on us at GraceFULL days~ we love new faces & comments. Bloggy thanks in advance for voting for my GraceFULL moment at Vicks Caring Tributes: http://videos.vickscaringtributes.com/videos/index.html

    Grace to you~
    Carmen

  3. acupofjoy permalink
    March 11, 2008 4:36 am

    I’m inviting you to party with me!

    Win some chocolate from my-sister-in-law and I…we blog about CHOCOLATE…me from Australia…and her from Michigan. Here’s the link: http://thechocolistas.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    What am I doing in Australia? I married an Aussie…and moved to Brisbane, leaving my family and friends and all the right-side-of-the-road drivers in America.

    Win a handmade pocket place mat from my blog Comfort Joy Designs. Here’s the link:
    http://comfortjoydesigns.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    Want to know more about life in Australia? Visit my A Cup of Joy site where I keep up with my family and friends in America. Here’s the link:
    http://acupofjoy.wordpress.com/

    Happy Partying!

  4. March 11, 2008 4:43 am

    Aloha from Hawaii! I just may be taking you up on the Science Project offer. Looking forward to checking out your new blog.

  5. March 11, 2008 6:14 am

    Hey…This is such a great way to make new blogging friends…looking forward to checking out your blog when I have more time….Come on over and visit with me…

  6. March 11, 2008 8:03 am

    thanks for inviting me to your party…it’s great. I’ll have to stop back later when I have more time!

  7. March 11, 2008 8:27 am

    Nice to meet you! I love your site and I’m a fellow writer. I think your Slice of Life idea is a great one and I’d love to join in. I’ll definitely be back to visit! Hope you’ll stop by and say hello sometime.

  8. March 11, 2008 8:30 am

    This is so much fun. Glad you decided to join in on all of the fun. This is my first time to be apart of the party and I am having a blast!
    Nice to meet you!

  9. March 11, 2008 12:41 pm

    I stopped by much earlier this morning … read your ‘party post’ and decided if you could ‘crash this event’ I could too ;–)
    Thanks for giving me the courage to do so! I almost added this to my Saturday post, but stopped myself at the last minute. Anyway … now I’m back to comment. I enjoyed getting to know you a bit better and am excited about your new blog. I have two as well … and keeping up is sometimes challenging, but I like each for different reasons. I hope you’ll stop by and partake of some fresh lemonade and snacks while you visit a bit when time permits.
    Hugs and blessings,

  10. March 11, 2008 4:20 pm

    How cool is that a blogging Grandma. I keep encouraging my Mom to blog and even keep it private if she wants, but what a great record for generations to come. Love your site and happy UBP!!!!! Come check out the party at my place.

  11. March 11, 2008 7:55 pm

    Wow. How nice to get to know you. I wonder where you work and how much you are involved in the Amish faith. Maybe I missed it. Not sure. I like it that twins created this party. I too have seen it and have been curious. I’m already involved in so many memes and things, don’t think I’ll ever do it.

    Have a great evening and best to you on your new blog — coming soon.

    *huggies*

  12. March 11, 2008 7:56 pm

    p.s. darn it – i got finger happy…i wanted to tell you how grateful I am that you stopped by to visit. it really means a lot. so i will:

    thank you so much for stopping by to visit. it really means a lot.

  13. March 11, 2008 10:08 pm

    Nice to meet you – hope you enjoy the party – party hearty… take care and don’t be a stranger…

  14. morgansvoice permalink
    March 12, 2008 1:13 pm

    WooHOO! Party! 🙂

  15. March 12, 2008 8:01 pm

    Nice to meet you. Happy blogging!

  16. March 13, 2008 10:39 am

    Your blog is so lovely! I like your new idea for a meme. Please put me on the list to hear when it’s ready!

    Thanks so much for having us at your party! Here’s a little hostess gift!

    See you soon,

    Melissa~

  17. greyscaleterritory permalink
    March 16, 2008 1:17 am

    I missed the party connection, but it is lovely seeing the energy here! Cricket, you are amazing!

    Gemma

Leave a Reply

