Skip to content

Writer’s Island: Déjà vu? or a Slice of Life

March 21, 2008

writers-island-badge-160.jpg

 Déjà vu? or a Slice of Life

Without wanting to appear as a total nerd, I will go on record to admit I love book stores. I love the smell of book stores, especially older ones located in a few front rooms of an older home. I particularly love the relaxed feeling of not having to be somewhere. Being in a book store puts me in another place and another time, without a clock. I truly enjoy wandering up and down aisles of books, or better yet, sitting on the floor going through a stack, selecting one here or there to peruse.  

One of my very favorite book stores is located in German Village in bookloft-main_thumb.jpgColumbus, Ohio. German Village is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is one of the largest restored districts in the United States. This quaint neighborhood has over 1,000 historic buildings, most dating from the mid- to late-19th century. The Book Loft, which is located on South Third Street, is an absolutely must-visit for any reader. These blocks of restored buildings are filled with over 700,000 titles. Each of the 32 rooms is devoted to a single subject and maps are given at the entranceway. Plan to spend an entire afternoon, if not an entire day just visiting The Book Loft.  

Not too long ago, I visited a similar book store and found myself sitting cross-legged on the wooden, uncovered floor in one of eight rooms in an old home dedicated to the preservation of books. I cameapple-pie-piece.jpg across an unusual book with the title “A Slice of Life” above a picture displaying the most inviting piece of apple pie with a very healthy (or unhealthy, depending on your point of view) serving of vanilla ice cream. Below the picture was a tag line, “Digesting the pieces of our lives one slice at a time.” Hmmm . . . such a provocative title and inviting picture demanded a thorough look-see.  

I began reading a chapter in the book, entitled “Our Wedding.” There were several accounts of wedding proposals, rehearsal dinners, wedding days, and honeymoons. I found myself laughing out loud while wiping away tears reading about botched elaborately-planned proposals, fly-in-my-soup dinners, run-away brides, and embarrassing get-a-ways. Then I came to an entry that didn’t seem to fit the chapter. It began talking about decisions made throughout the writer’s life. The article gained my undivided attention when the writer spoke of being “the black sheep in that I was an over-achiever” and a few sentences later, “But in 1968, when a “good girl” became pregnant, social proprieties had to be met and an immediate wedding had to be planned.” Oh my, I thought! Am I having a Déjà vu experience or has someone plagiarized a slice of my life! 

As it turns out, this experience and book is the finalized dream of yours truly. Yes, I do indeed hope to find my book, “A Slice of Life” on the shelf of any given book store in about two years. But you may also have your own Déjà vu experience in reading my book as I am looking for contributing writers. I have created a meme, Slice of Life Sunday, complete with blog, http://sliceoflifesunday.wordpress.com, to collect pieces of A Slice of Life. Come on over and check me out!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2008 4:59 pm

    Thanks for sharing with us the experience, the joy being around books, I share that bliss, too. And your personal introspections in all these that conjure up some strangely familiar emotions in me as I follow your thoughts and as I ready your story.

    A beautiful read.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

  2. greyscaleterritory permalink
    March 21, 2008 5:32 pm

    This is utterly fascinating. I too love the “smell”, in fact the whole atmosphere of old book stores. It’s an earthy magic that feeds the spirit.

    Your meme initiative sounds great! Going to take a peek!

  3. March 21, 2008 5:42 pm

    I tried to get to your other blog thru your profile originally before I saw this. But it didn’t work. I found you thru writer’s island 😀
    I absolutely LOVE book stores too. I have to be careful I don’t lose track of time and stay too long!
    signed, a nerd too

  4. March 21, 2008 5:58 pm

    I too love bookshops . The smell, the reverential silence. I like seeing the gaggles of little chidren sitting cross-legged on the floor, and serious looking types sitting in chairs thumbing through weighty reference books. Book shops are great levellers,all life is there.

  5. March 21, 2008 6:28 pm

    Bookstores (old and some new) are always a great place to be. I enjoyed reading your post very much. The references to the 60’s speak volumes, don’t they (no pun intended) :<)

    Happy Easter, G

  6. March 21, 2008 6:45 pm

    Oh my……………Memories

  7. March 21, 2008 10:10 pm

    I have another blog where I write reviews of most of the books I read. I cannot survive without visiting bookstores at least ones a month.

    Click on my name to go to my book blog. And I will check out your blog too!

    dancing comes full circle

  8. March 22, 2008 9:47 am

    i am on my way over as we speak… what an excellent idea…..

  9. March 22, 2008 11:01 am

    I love bookstores too … new and used (although sometimes my allergies kick up in the latter). My favorite was in a local beach town north of here, but it went out of business a few years back. I’ve got a few I visit on a regular basis however … and B&N is a frequent stop for me whenever I’ve got a bit of time to browse and/or sit with a book in a public space. I love the idea of your Slice Of Life blog ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  10. March 22, 2008 11:36 am

    I like the picture, it tells much about the historic place that you mentioned. You sure went through an exciting experience like the one mentioned. Deja Vu. Lovely piece of work. Have a nice weekend.

  11. March 22, 2008 2:38 pm

    Book stores are a favorite of mine too. When we visit Ohio agian I will have Hubby stop by and visit the historic place you talked about. Happy Easter to you and yours.

    Love and Hugs,
    Joyce

  12. March 22, 2008 4:50 pm

    English bookstores here in Israel are obviously a small minority, and tend to be tiny. I can only fantasize about the type you describe.

    I’m very intrigued by your book. I’ll have to check out your meme.

  13. March 24, 2008 4:09 am

    I could sleep in a book store quite happily. I hope that one day I will see your book on the shelves.

  14. March 25, 2008 8:15 am

    both hubby and i love bookstores…we can never seem to pass one without going in, and we can never seem to leave without coming out with a few books each in hand. i’m going to sidebar your “slice of life” site and hope to one day contribute.

Leave a Reply

