Skip to content

Sunday Scribblings: I just don’t get it. . .

March 22, 2008

I wish you the blessing of Easter

Today’s Sunday Scribbling prompt is – “I just don’t get it…”

It is my sincere hope you do get the message of Easter – Jesus died on the cross for our sins and rose again for our salvation.

 

sunday2.jpg

There have been many things that have puzzled me over the years, but the one thing that keeps me amazed, even though I use it almost every minute of every day, is how electricity works. Of all the inventions throughout time, I think electricity has to be the most incredible because it has opened the door for so many other inventions and thousands of uses. Before electricity we used fireplaces for heat, wood-fired stoves for cooking, smoke signals and post cards for long distance communication, and candles for light. Since the first use of electricity for providing light by a single bulb, the selection of lighting options has become astounding. One of the most used inventions that has come into being because of electricity is the telephone. The transformation from Alexander Graham Bell’s first telephone call in 1876 stating “Mr. Watson come here, I want to see you” to the 30-50 text messages like, “wotU warin tomoz gf”, being sent by an average teenager every day, has drastically changed communication all across the world. How would our homes operate without the television and radio, refrigerator and freezer, the computer and internet, not to mention small things like toasters, hair dryers, clocks, and even the foot massager? For me, the worst thing about a storm is not the thunder and lightning, pouring rain or driving snow, or high winds and hail, but the possibility of losing electricity! I have had experts try to explain the foundations of the workings of electricity, telephones and even the internet, but I just don’t get it. I just accept the fact that I am technologically challenged and I am content to go about my life using electricity, my telephone and obviously the internet.

apple-pie-piece.jpgAs a side note, I have a new blog/meme, Slice of Life Sunday, I created for writers just like you. Come on over and check it out at http://sliceoflifesunday.wordpress.com/.

 

 

Christian Glitter by http://www.christianglitter.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2008 9:29 am

    Well done! Fortunately we don’t need to understand how electricity works to enjoy it’s ‘benefits’ in our world ;–)
    Happy Easter to you and yours!
    Hugs and blessings,

  2. March 23, 2008 10:12 am

    I don’t get it either but so happy that we have it. What would we do without access to our blogs??? 🙂

  3. March 23, 2008 1:51 pm

    ….and have a happy easter from me too!!!
    Hope you’ve had a wonderful day!!!

  4. March 23, 2008 2:32 pm

    I kinda wish we could go back somedays but I love blogging. 😉

    HAPPY EASTER BLESSINGS!

  5. March 23, 2008 5:12 pm

    Some things I understand so little of, I’ve learned to accept them. I still don’t get TV – . Nice post!

  6. morgansvoice permalink
    March 23, 2008 9:03 pm

    I don’t get it either. But, man! I sure do love having it! 🙂

  7. March 24, 2008 4:06 am

    Happy Easter. Electricity is incredible. It really has changed the world!

Leave a Reply

