Skip to content

MeMe Monday

March 24, 2008

mememonday1.png

hootin-annis-challenge.jpg 

I thought I would begin Meme Monday by doing Hootin Anni’s 175 Word Challenge. This was fun making sure it was exactly 175 words:

I was in my mid-20’s before I realized not everyone had two names. My entire family – aunts, uncles, cousins and siblings – all had nicknames for our daily name. Our legal names were just that, names used for legal purposes such as grade cards, mortgages, passports, and paychecks. Cricket has been my family nickname since I was 3 days old. I was a very small baby. . . just over 5 pounds, the smallest baby to be born in my family in many years. As the story goes, my Uncle Ralph (aka Raymond Amos ) came to visit on my first day home from the hospital. As he looked into my crib, he made a big issue out of not being able to find me. Of course I was there and I was making cooing noises. So Uncle Ralph said, “I don’t see a baby in here! There’s just this little cricket, can’t you hear her chirping?” Just like that, Evelyn Jean became Cricket. Yes, 56 years later my father still calls me Cricket!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~  ~~ ~  ~~  ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I found these fun bloggies at Small Reflections last Monday. I do not know why, but really enjoy taking these little insight quizzes. I guess I am trying to discover the true me!


Your Heart is Red and Purple


Your heart is strong and powerful.You are dominant, competent, and brave.You bring order and support to relationships.You’re good at being the one in control.

What Are the Colors of Your Heart?
It is surprising to see how close these things come to how I perceive myself. I think I can be too dominant in relationships, which may explain two divorces – of course there were other reasons! 

You Are Fruit Flavored Gum


You are quirky and independent. You don’t tend to follow any one style or rule book.You are a mix and match type of person, and you draw inspiration from many sources.While you’re definitely a bit unusual, you get along well with other people.You’re eager to welcome anyone into your world. You are not judgmental at all.
You form close bonds with your friends, and your relationships tend to be very secure.You hold firm to your beliefs and values, and you don’t let anyone talk you into compromising them.

What Flavor Gum Are You?
I do see alot of me in this one. I am a mix and match type of person, nor do I follow one style or rule book – which is why the Lord gets very frustrated with me from time to time. But He also knows that I do indeed hold firm to my values and beliefs, and on several occassions have suffered because I would not compromise them. I think He understands that!
And being an election year and just being me, I could not pass this one up I saw on the sidebar!

Your Political Profile:


Overall: 65% Conservative, 35% LiberalSocial Issues: 100% Conservative, 0% Liberal
Personal Responsibility: 50% Conservative, 50% LiberalFiscal Issues: 50% Conservative, 50% LiberalEthics: 50% Conservative, 50% LiberalDefense and Crime: 75% Conservative, 25% Liberal

How Liberal Or Conservative Are You?
Again, it is amazing at how close these come. I think I have opened my conservatism up a bit due to the state of the economy and the state of our country in general.
And finally, storyteller at Small Reflections also shared the following just for visiting her blog . . .  isn’t she a sweetheart!?!

And if that wasn’t enough, she honored me with this award!

I will select the blogs to share this award with at a later time.

Have a great week everyone!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2008 9:47 am

    How fun to learn more about you through Hootin’ Anni’s 175 word challenge. Maybe I’ll give that one a go some Monday down the line. Today I did the Make a Wish meme on a tag from Ivanhoe. I did it at Sacred Ruminations on Saturday … so today’s is my 2nd wish. Maybe you’ll decide to do it too?

    I enjoyed seeing your answers to the ‘quizzes’ I shared last week at Small Reflections. Perhaps I’ll give the ‘Political’ one a try myself later as time permits, but this morning Molly is pestering me to take her outside to play and go for a walk … sigh! I’m happy that you enjoyed the ‘awards’ from last week and I’ll look forward to seeing who you decide to pass them along to in the future. I hope you have a marvelous Monday!
    Hugs and blessings,

  2. March 24, 2008 1:37 pm

    I love to do those little quizzes too. I always find them to be so much fun. Happy Meme Monday!

  3. March 24, 2008 2:01 pm

    I loved your 175 word challenge story. How very intresting.
    And I love doing those quizzes, I’ll probably play along.

    Thanks for playing again this week!

  4. March 25, 2008 8:37 am

    That’s neat how your family has a tradition like that with nicknames! I might have to Hootin’ Anni’s meme one of these day. Thanks for stopping by. I enjoyed getting to know you better. Have a great week!

  5. March 30, 2008 5:05 am

    I LOVED it! I loved it. What a great 175 meme/challenge. You did a terrific job. Now, there IS a certificate for you if you’d like to pick it up. It’s under my middle sidebar where you see the drop down menu for all the Challenge Participants. I will go add your blog entry url for the challenge.

    Did I tell you……..I love it? Well, I do.
    Great job.

Leave a Reply

