Skip to content

Sunday Scribblings:Freedom Isn’t Free

March 29, 2008

sunday2.jpg

This week’s prompt for Sunday Scribblings is the topic “out of this world.” I will be honest and say I never really got into the whole space thing, much too sci-fy for me. Other than watching the “first step for man, giant leap for mankind” walk on the moon in July of 1969, I have never given much thought to things out of this world. So I thought I would write about things out of “my” world.

I had so much fun Wednesday evening participating in the Bold & Free Scavenger Hunt. What an absolute hoot! The hunt required visiting twelve participating bloggers to find scavenger-hunt.jpganswers to questions that are posted at Bold & Free’s blog. There are two sets of great prizes to be won and a whole lot of fun. I think what I enjoyed most was visiting each blog and learning more about the person sitting at her computer somewhere out there in blogsville. I realize organizing a project such as this scavenger hunt takes quite a bit of time and energy and cooperation from others, but this is such a nice way to get new visitors to your blog. I actually stumbled across Bold & Free’s blog from another meme I was participating in and then got to know 11 more new friends. So many books have been written about how to make new friends and influence people, I wonder what those authors think of the impact that blogsville has on reducing the size of this planet.

I found a very interesting program at Ponderings from the Path, one of the participating bloggers of Bold & Free Scavenger Hunt, that gave me pause to look at where my priorities lie. There is nothing more foreign to me than war. As an American, I have become very spoiled and almost oblivious to what is happening across the big ponds. How quickly I forgot the apprehension and indignation I felt when my first husband served in Vietnam. Even the shock of 9-11 has begun to wear off. Yes, I am definitely a spoiled American. I take our country’s freedom for granted. I am ashamed I have become jaded by my aggravation with the politics of America and have lost touch with the reality that sons and daughters, husbands and wives, sisters and brothers from all across America are serving in harm’s way on my behalf. What a foolish old woman I have turned into. But no more!

The program that is bringing me back to reality is called Any Soldier. Through this wonderful program you can “adopt” any soldier serving in “harm’s way” and send them items they need as well as just communicating.Go to AnySoldier.com On this website, you can actually view the men and women serving in all branches of our armed services. The site is easy to navigate and very informative. Once you select your soldier, their address is emailed to you. A list of needed and wanted items is also given. There is even a program where you may purchase a pre-selected package of items and all you have to do is pay for it and they will mail it for you.

I made my selection immediately, a female serving in the Navy in Afganistan, and have purchased a few items already and will finish up on Sunday. I plan to send something on the first and 15th of each month. I am just so happy that I found the information on this program (thank you Bold & Free Scavenger Hunt!) and hope to get my workplace involved in adopting the entire squad. If you have time and want to do something to pay back our soldier’s for putting their life on the line for us, (you do not have to agree with the principles, or lack their of, behind our soldiers fighting so far from home), I hope you will check this program out.

Yes, I learned something this week that was out of my world,

Freedom isn’t free, just ask Any Soldier.

soldier.jpg
6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2008 2:12 pm

    I forgot earlier this morning to stop by your most recent blog entry to tell you that you’ve been added to the Word Challenge —and that I left you another message on the completed one you directed me to within my comments. [There is a certificate for you —just go to your Monday Meme blog entry and look for my other comment]

  2. March 30, 2008 2:57 pm

    Good job! Truly insightful and provocative.

  3. winedarksea permalink
    March 30, 2008 4:10 pm

    interesting…

    WDS

  4. March 30, 2008 5:24 pm

    I am like you I get forgetful of how our military is fighting for freedom throughout the world. I come from a large family and at last count there are about 15 members stationed in 15 different areas. Thank you for your post to wake me up again about our freedom.

    Love and Hugs,
    Joyce

  5. March 31, 2008 7:17 am

    Great move to make on this prompt Cricket!! Out of this world doesn’t have to be space related as in “outer” it is the space all around us.

    As for the sentiment of your piece — striking and poignant.

  6. March 31, 2008 12:34 pm

    You are doing the right thing! Glad I read your post!

    debris of our making

Leave a Reply

