Skip to content

Meme Monday

March 31, 2008

mememonday2.png

Happy Meme Monday all. I hope you had a good week. I do believe spring has finally arrived, and not a day too soon!

175certificate.gifI received this wonderful certificate from Hootin Anni for doing her 175 word challenge last week. If you haven’t already tried this one, you should. It really is a challenge!

And what would my Meme Monday be without yet another bloggy thing! I just can’t seem to get enough of these things. I actually saw this one when I was out visiting this past week at Quilts n More, who visited me awhile back.

fun quiz for myspace profile and blog

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kitchen MeMe

I saw the Kitchen Meme at Pam’s at Random Thoughts last week and thought I would play along.

What three kitchen items do you use the most often?
refrigerator, gas cook stove, and sink

What kitchen gadget do you wish you had? A Cook!

What kitchen gadget do you never use/wish you hadn’t spent the money for? Breadmaker – I have only used it twice.

What is your favorite cookbook? I have a very old Betty Crocker cookbook that my grandmother had. The pages are falling out and somewhat yellowed, but I love having her cookbook.

Who is your cooking inspiration?
Mo at greatfullivin – she is by far the best cook I have ever known.

What are the three most important items on your spice rack?
Pepper, Cinnamon, Vanilla

What are three recipes that you use all the time?

1. Skillet Hamburger Caserole: very easy to make – brown 1 pound ground chuck in skillet (salt and pepper to taste), slice up 5-6 potatoes, add the potatoes to the browned hamburger with a large can of Campbell’s mushroom soup, stir all together with a little milk and cook until potatoes are tender.

2. Bag Apple Pie: this is such a yummy apple pie and very impressive to serve – many ooohhs and aaahhhs – I featured it as my first pie recipe on Slice of Life Sunday

3. Easy Sunday Morning Breakfast: in a large skillet, brown one pound of ground sausage (salt and pepper to taste), add four potatoes (diced), one small onion (diced), about 1/4 of a green pepper( diced). Once potatoes are tender, scramble up 4 eggs in a bowl with a little milk and pour over the cooked mixture, stir until eggs are fully cooked and serve with biscuits

Can you share a cooking secret?
To make the best mashed potatoes, put peeled and quartered potatoes in cold water and cook until tender. Drain potatoes and put in bowl to mix immediately (do not let the potatoes get cool or they will be lumpy). Add milk first and mash with an electric mixer. By adding the milk before the butter, the milk actually mixes into the potato better and makes a creamy mashed potato instead of lumpy. If you add the butter first, then the butter coats the potatoes and the milk can not penetrate into the potato and you have lumpy mashed potatoes.

Cleaning?? When washing windows, wash the inside of the window up and down, but wash the outside of the window from side to side. This prevents streaking.

What is your favorite thing to clean?
Windows

What is your least favorite thing to clean?
Washing ceilings and walls.

What is your most embarrassing housekeeping moment?
When it started getting cold last fall, the mice started to come into the house. I set mouse traps and put out the little weggie boxes with mice killer in it (which by the way worked very well). My neice and her two boys (5 and 3) stopped by for a visit and I was fixing dinner. I asked the 5 year old to get me some potatoes from the potato bin in the cupboard, forgetting I had set a mouse trap just below the bin. When he opened the cupboard door, he started screaming and crying because there was a dead mouse in the trap. I felt so horrible, first because it scared him so badly and second because my neice now knew we had mice, at least a dead one!

Who do you tag to do this next?
I tag anyone who loves to be in their kitchen and wants to play along!

apple-pie-piece.jpg

I hope you will visit Slice of Life Sunday and write a story about a slice of your life!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2008 7:29 pm

    I’m glad that you played along with the kitchen meme….I never remember who has done what memes so I just throw it out there to anyone. Glad you did it! Happy MM!

  2. April 1, 2008 9:04 am

    I don’t know how I missed commenting yesterday … but congratulations on Hootin’ Anni’s challenge and your ‘slice of life’ … however I’ve never been good at ‘writing to a prompt’ of any kind. I’m a Pisces and I’ve saved the info to post someday when I come up w/o inspiration. This is a meme I’ll probably never do at this point in my life (because I don’t spend much time in the kitchen any more) and tht’s probably why I cracked up at #3 on your ‘kitchen’ meme because it’s such a perfect response. LOL
    Hugs and blessings,

  3. morgansvoice permalink
    April 1, 2008 10:46 am

    Awesome memes! 🙂 Love the kitchen one! 🙂 My Slice of Life will be up tonight! 🙂

  4. April 1, 2008 8:58 pm

    I love that kitchen meme!

    Thanks for always playing Meme Monday!

  5. April 3, 2008 12:42 am

    I am going to make that Bag Apple Pie on the weekend. It sounds absolutely delicious!

  6. April 3, 2008 2:44 am

    Cricket…click on my name in this comment:).

  7. April 3, 2008 11:43 am

    Honey….if the red book graphic in your sidebar is for your meme…put a link there to the post for the meme. This will add a link to you at technoratti.com.

    HUGS~

  8. April 8, 2008 9:14 pm

    Cricket…hey darlin~ Send me the message you want in your bottle and I will fix it up for you:).

    Hugs….

Leave a Reply

