Skip to content

Fun Monday

May 19, 2008

 I try to always visit everyone who stops by to visit me. I recently had a new visitor to by blog by way of 40 or less photo challenge and that’s how I came across Mariposa’s Tales. At her blog, I found a new meme, at least new to me, called Fun Monday. It seems this meme has been around since January of 2007 and features a different volunteer host each week. Now how cool is that!?! The meme was actually started by none other than Robin of Pensieve, who also is the founder of 40 or less Photo Challenge. That Robin is one busy and creative lady! The assignment for Fun Monday this week, from the inquizative mind of Mariposa is Collections. 

 I have been collecting teapots for more than 30 years and have more than 100!

I collect teapots because they remind of people. Both teapots and people have similar parts – a body, a handle/arms, a lid/head, a spout/mouth, etc. They both come in different shapes, sizes and colors. They both sometimes have broken parts that may lead others to think they are of less value than an unbroken one. But the main thing teapots and people share is one definite quality-regardless of their outward appearance, it’s how they are made on the inside that will determine their goodness – whether it be the goodness of a cup of tea or the goodness of their human spirit.

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2008 9:26 am

    I seriously adore teapots. I have about 10 that I just couldn’t turn down.

  2. May 19, 2008 12:51 pm

    Thats so cool! I use to collect tea cups that probably would have matched your pots! But then I had a two year old and I guess I didn’t child proof very well…lol

  3. May 19, 2008 1:59 pm

    This was lovely – I wonder if that’s why my mom collects teapots!

  4. May 19, 2008 2:03 pm

    That was so lovely and so true. I always think the huge variety of teapots you can get are amazing.

  5. May 19, 2008 3:02 pm

    I love teapots too. Yours are lovely. Great post! 🙂

    http://www.mypoeticpath.wordpress.com

  6. May 19, 2008 4:20 pm

    These are lovely teapots … and I’ll bet the rest are wonderful too. I’ve been participating in Fun Monday for 7 weeks and always enjoy seeing what others share in response to the challenges, but I didn’t know it originated with Robin (aka Pensieve). She IS one busily creative Blogger. My ‘collectibles’ are up at Small Reflections.
    Hugs and blessings,

  7. May 19, 2008 4:43 pm

    Oh I want to see more of your teapots!
    BTW Robin didn’t actually start Fun Monday but has been with it since the beginning. The original person no longer participates although she did host on the 1st anniversary post.

  8. Ellen permalink
    May 19, 2008 4:48 pm

    Oh how wonderful. you have over a 100 Teapots. Have you heard about the tea blogathon going on? This week the theme is the pouring Teapot. You might want to share your teapots with the rest of us over at Gracious Hospitality. Everyone would love seeing them (or some of them) I’ll come back and give you the link to the site…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/05/18/fun-monday-beatrix-potter-collection/

  9. Ellen permalink
    May 19, 2008 4:49 pm

    It’s me again. The Pouring Teapot theme is going on all week till Saturday. Here’s my Teapot entry for the blogathon and I have the link to the main site on this post, too. Enjoy…
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/05/18/the-pouring-teapot-tea-blogathon/

  10. May 19, 2008 6:42 pm

    Your teapots are so pretty…and what a lovely way to think about them.

  11. May 19, 2008 7:38 pm

    Tea pots are proving to be quite the collectors items this Fun Monday! Yours are just lovely!

  12. May 19, 2008 9:28 pm

    What a wonderful thought, “it’s how they are made on the inside that will determine their goodness – whether it be the goodness of a cup of tea or the goodness of their human spirit.” Can I come over for a spot of tea? I have three teapots that do not get enough use.

  13. May 19, 2008 11:00 pm

    those are beautiful and I love what you wrote about them, beautiful words to go with beautiful pictures and items.

  14. May 19, 2008 11:00 pm

    I’m a little tea pot short and stout ….. so do you know who A Wood is in the world of tea pot, came across it in another FM teapot collector.

  15. May 20, 2008 10:39 am

    I just started to sing I’m a little tea pot and I see someone beat me to it.
    Well TURN ME OVER and POUR ME OUT!!

    I would love to see your tea pot collection.

  16. May 20, 2008 5:08 pm

    Awesome analogy…teapots and people:). I love teapots, too, but so far have managed to NOT collect them. Whew~

  17. May 20, 2008 10:14 pm

    For over 30 years?! Wow!

    I love teapots too…thanks for playing!

  18. May 20, 2008 10:52 pm

    Welcome to Fun Monday! Beautiful teapots! I would like to someday collect them. Someday!

  19. July 27, 2008 5:16 pm

    I adore your blog…I just happened to be searching for “teapots” and came upon your blog. WOW! over 100…that’s wonderful. I find them to be quite beautiful and they add such an elegant touch to any decor. Love your comparison of “teapots” to “people”…very sweet!

    Hugs and Blessings!

Leave a Reply

