Skip to content

Myers Family Curse

June 29, 2008

 

 

Slice of Life Sunday is a meme dedicated to preserving the accounts of events cut out of the lives of average people just like you and me from all over the world. And like having ice cream with your pie, there is more to this meme than meets the eye – it’s a meme a` la mode. I hope you will join me and share a Slice of your Life.

The Myers Family Curse

 

I think most families have superstitions passed down through the generations. Both of my grandmothers were very diligent in seeing all their children and grandchildren were well versed in the more popular superstitions. Walking under a ladder would bring bad luck in the form of an illness or injury. Breaking a mirror would bring a cornucopia of bad luck for seven years, although I seem to recall financial difficulties were at the top of the list. Spilling salt at the table during dinner would bring sickness or death, unless of course the salt-spiller would quickly throw salt over their left shoulder. Saying “God Bless You” to someone who sneezed was just plain good Christian manners as the sneezer was on the verge of an illness. As a child, I closely followed the suggested instructions to each of these superstitions to ward off evil spirits and illness. As I entered adulthood, I thought most of these were a bit on the silly side. However, there was one other superstition my Grandma Myers called the Myers Family Curse that I have come to learn may hold some validity. She called it the Death in Three’s.

 

As the curse goes, if one family member dies, then two more family members or very close friends will die within three months. I first recall learning about my family’s curse when I was seven years old. My Grandpa Wilson, my mother’s father, died shortly after my birthday in August. Although he was only related to the Myers family by marriage, my Grandma Lily began to fret about who else in the family would be dying soon. Less than one month later, my Uncle Beaman (Grandma Lily’s 6th son) was killed in a freak accident during a flash flood. Two weeks later, my Uncle Lynnie (Grandma Lily’s 1st son) died in an accident in Maryland. Grandma Lily said the Myers Family Curse was at work again. I remember being so scared after Uncle Beaman died, but then almost relieved after the third death because I thought the curse was over. A few years later the curse reared its ugly head again with the deaths of three more family members, all within three months of each other. By the time I was 18, with several more Death in Three’s, I realized the curse was truly a part of our family.

 

Over the past forty years, I have seen the Myers Family Curse proven numerous times. I have also learned Death in Three’s is not just limited to my family. I have met countless people over the years from all walks of life who also believe in this family superstition. Sometimes I try to convince myself it is because my father’s family was so large that three members happen to die within months or weeks of each other. I have also waited in vain for the curse to fulfill itself several times when a family member died with three months passing and no other deaths occurring. Whether it is simply an odd coincidence or truly a family curse, I do know Death in Three’s happens way too much for my liking. I will admit my apprehension of late is primarily due because I know my Aunt Idie is 93 and not in good health and my father is 82, also not in the best of health. And, my Cousin Dennie died almost two weeks ago. Despite the silliness some my see in the Death in Three’s, I know I will breath a sigh of relief on September 15.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Wyndspirit permalink
    June 29, 2008 6:55 pm

    I have heard (and seen) that “curse,” too, although I can’t say it particularly happened to my family.

    ~~ Thank you for stopping by. Family superstitions can be confusing at best. Cricket

  2. June 29, 2008 8:11 pm

    That is unnerving. Family curses intrigue me. I do think there is more to a curse than meets the eye. I hope that in this case, the curse is broken.

    ~~ Yes unnerving is a very good definition! I too hope this is another time the curse does not fulfill its prophecy. Cricket

  3. June 29, 2008 8:16 pm

    this is sad. yeah unnerving as selma says…what a worrying curse this is!

    ~~Yes, this curse has been a constant sense of worry for our family as we all have seen it happen too often. Cricket

  4. June 29, 2008 9:10 pm

    Cricket, wow, that is crazy that it happens specifically in your family. I have heard of the curse of 3 but it was not told to me that is was limited to my family. I do know that when a celebrity dies my family always talked about who would be next. I still think this when a celebrity dies and have seen it happen. As you said, it probably has something to do with the large number of people involved but very strange none the less.

    ~~ I think many families believe in similar curses. I have also learned some people believe in a positive spin of this curse, good things come in 3’s. Cricket

  5. July 2, 2008 7:48 pm

    Oh yes – the power of three! Good, bad, indifferent! Everything happens in threes!

  6. July 3, 2008 10:21 am

    I got an award for ya
    maybe you’ll get two more and that’ll be a good thing in threes!

Leave a Reply

