Skip to content

Celebrate Freedom While We have It

July 3, 2008


July 4th has been a fun holiday for our family. We celebrate our country’s freedom with a family bbq followed by a group outing to the local fireworks display. Everyone brings their favorite summer foods and we have quite a feast. This year will feature much of the same and I am looking forward to being with family. I must admit I am feeling a little down this holiday though. I have been quite concerned with the lack of quality candidates for this year’s presidential election. I do not believe any of the candidates have a real plan to get our economy back on track or our troops home without jeopardizing our country as well as others. Without going into a long analysis comparing end times to current events, I do want to say I believe the lack of a solid Christian leader for our country is sign tribulation is upon us and America as we currently know it will cease to exist and be overtaken. Although I know this has to happen for our Lord to return, and being a Christian there is a better place being prepared for me, I am still saddened my grandchildren will never know what America used to be – the home of the free and the brave, the land of opportunity for all its people. Today as my family celebrates in our traditional July 4th holiday, I will also pray for those who have transformed the land of opportunity to the land of opportunist – may God have mercy on their souls.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2008 12:50 am

    Cricket, I feel the very same as you about the candidates for President. I feel we don’t have a good choice, so what are we to do? Well, I for one have just been praying that the best man for the good of our country will be elected to the highest office in our land.

    Happy 4th of July, Cricket

  2. July 6, 2008 9:47 pm

    I didn’t know you were a Christian, that’s good news! I agree with you one hundred percent-same thing here in Canada-Even so, Come Lord Jesus Come

    PS I don’t have as much patience as I should have…lol…but that’s where prayer comes in 😉

  3. July 8, 2008 4:08 am

    Unfortunately, I think it’s a bit of a world wide trend – this lull in the economy and general sense of disenchantment. I blame the consumerist culture which has done things like widening the gap between rich and poor almost irreversibly. The golden days have gone but I believe with careful planning, we could get them back. Hope you had a restful 4th of July.

Leave a Reply

