Skip to content

Slice of Life – A Necessay Evil

July 12, 2008

 

Slice of Life Sunday is a meme dedicated to preserving the accounts of events cut out of the lives of average people just like you and me from all over the world. And like having ice cream with your pie, there is more to this meme than meets the eye – it’s a meme a` la mode. I hope you will join me and share a Slice of your Life.

 

 

If I were asked to describe myself in one word, that word would have to be accommodating. I like to think of myself as one who enjoys helping others with most anything they need done as well as one who gives the red-carpet- treatment to visitors to my home. Although I am quick to come to the aide of others, I am reluctant to ask for help on my own projects. I assume this comes from developing a sense of self-reliance over the years. I also believe it is due to childhood brainwashing. My maternal grandmother is well remembered for a phrase she used on a daily basis, “If something needs done, just do it and get it over with.” She often referred to those things we really dislike to do but have to be done nevertheless as “necessary evils.”  For her, doing dishes was a necessary evil. She called this chore evil because it was constant and never ending. Although I would rather have a dishwasher, and I really dislike grocery shopping, the one thing I truly detest doing and have always considered a necessary evil is painting.

 

I realize the value of painting, both for protection of items as well as for the decorative look it provides. I have always admired others who are so creative in coordinating colors. I will admit one reason I think of painting as a necessary evil is due to the fact I am not very good at it. I tend to use too much paint on my paintbrush which inevitably ends up on me. I learned many years ago to have painting clothes. The standard comment I receive while in the mist of a painting project is, “Did you get any paint on the wall?” As messy as painting is for me, I think the main reason it is a necessary evil is because it is never ending. I recently painted my porch furniture and the shutters and window sashes. Once these items were all new looking, I needed to paint all the trim on the porch which led to painting the entire front of my home. And the worst part is, this painting evil all began because I need to paint my picket fence, which isn’t even started yet!

 

My distaste for painting led to something I absolutely love – wallpaper. I purchased my first home in 1977. It was a huge century 12-room farmhouse, with  original unpainted oak woodwork including a beautiful open staircase. All the walls in every room was wallpapered – many times over! My Uncle Jake fell in love with the house and offered to teach me how to wallpaper over the protests of my husband who just wanted to “throw some paint on the walls.” After stripping off all the wallpaper, sometimes up to six layers, I ended up wallpapering every room. My love of wallpapering led to my being offered a position in the paint department at Lowe’s Home Improvement many years later while I was in college. When asked during the interview if I knew much about painting, I responded, “Enough to know it is a necessary evil.” Once we both stopped laughing, I explained my love of wallpapering and was immediately hired because the store was down on its sales budget for the wallpaper section of the Paint Department. Within six weeks, wallpaper sales had more than tripled and I was promoted to the Assistant Department Manager position.

 

While working in the paint department I learned several painting techniques commonly referred to as faux finishes. And even though these finishes are very attractive on other people’s walls, it is still painting to me. I believe I am the only person in the entire world who can not sponge paint correctly. My granddaughter had to correct what I doing when I helped her repaint her bedroom a few years back – she was eight years old! I decided then and there to stick with regular painting.

 

I hope to be finished with the front of my house tomorrow. Of course this means I will need to re-hang the shutters and do some touchup painting on the windows because I got house paint on the window trim paint. Oh well, I’ll just do it and get it over with!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. adamswife permalink
    July 13, 2008 2:48 pm

    I rather like to paint. I’ve never done any wall papering, probably never will. And I generally do not like faux finishes, so no sponging for me, either. Good luck with the rest of your necessary evils. =)

  2. July 13, 2008 4:29 pm

    i can’t paint, i can’t wallpaper, both are useless for me to even try…lol
    hubby is a painter so i don’t even bother, i know i can’t do it to his perfectionism…nobody can…lol

  3. July 13, 2008 11:54 pm

    I actually have never tried my hand at painting, but I admire you for jumping in with both feet to get it done and over with. You are going to have a new looking place by the time you finish.

  4. July 14, 2008 7:03 am

    I am hopeless at wallpapering and painting but I do enjoy seeing the paste being put on the rolls of wallpaper. It is very relaxing. Some of the prints these days are gorgeous. I admire you for being able to wallpaper – what a great skill to have!

  5. July 14, 2008 7:39 am

    I was going to pick more than one prompt but couldn’t think of anything…lol…i was scared to write this one! I’m glad everyone has been supportive so far…phew….lol

  6. July 14, 2008 7:39 am

    i should say, this was the necessary evil…hehe

  7. July 19, 2008 9:51 pm

    I sooo relate to painting begets painting… it’s the same with cleaning. This is a great necessary evil! 🙂

Leave a Reply

