Skip to content

Rejoining Blogville

September 23, 2008

I want to thank those who have stayed with me throughout the summer. I have limited my posts to Slice of Life Sunday stories. Although I have been busy painting, and yes I am still painting, I have given my remaining time to Slice of Life. It has been mostly a liberating experience but I have to confess that it has also been very difficult at times to “relive” certain events. Some days I have allowed myself to sink into a major depression from these memories. But then I will get a call from a friend or my dad needs me to help with something and I find I can refocus and put the event in proper perspective. Yes, being a part of Slice of Life has helped me accept that there were many things in my life that I had no control over but I do have control over how I now see the event. I have also gained so much joy from reading the stories from other writers. I am currently waiting for a response from a publisher who is reviewing the first two chapters of our book and do hope to have good news soon.

I am looking forward to getting back involved with other memes and visiting other blogs. My 100th post is coming up soon and I would like to do something special to celebrate the accomplishment. Any thoughts?

I have followed the candidates for the upcoming election. I am looking forward to watching the debate this Friday evening. I am one of the undecided voters who needs much more information.

I have also joined a financial class at Kent State University. It has been 10 years since I was in college and I am amazed by the changes. There seems to such a lack of respect for the “college experience.” Maybe it is just my age, and the fact I had to wait over 25 years to have the opportunity to go to college in the mid 90’s, but I think a college education should be appreciated instead of taking it for granted. Many of the “kids” in my class are such whiners and give the Professor a difficult time. I just want to smack them!

I am looking forward to having my grandson Caleb this weekend. My son is taking my daughter-in-law to Michigan for a weekend get-a-way. The weather should be good and I know a game of miniature golf is in my near future.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2008 7:42 am

    I have gotten so much out of Slice of Life but I will admit to occasionally feeling saddened by reliving the memories too. Glad you’re going to post more regularly at the Hearth. Enjoy the visit from your grandson.

  2. September 25, 2008 11:47 am

    hubby’s back in college after 15 years and he agrees with what you say here about it
    i’m enjoying slice of life too…such a variety of stories and different lives coming together to share…it’s wonderful and I haven’t been able to read all the posts written for slice so I’m looking forward to the book! lol
    welcome back to blogland and if you get a chance, post your paintings! I had no idea you painted 🙂

Leave a Reply

