Skip to content

What is the world seeking?

October 25, 2008

Selma in the City has a new blog, Search Engine Stories. Each Saturday she gives a writing prompt for us to use our creativity to write a poem, a story, a non-fiction essay, a photo essay, a piece of artwork, or a song. Be sure to stop in and be inspired! This week, she gave us something that provoked a little deeper thinking for me: “What is the world seeking?”

Miss America hopefuls are seeking world peace.

The wealthy are seeking tax breaks.

Brides are seeking a beautiful day for their wedding.

Political candidates are seeking election.

Students are seeking to pass their exam.

Aspiring actors are seeking the roll of a lifetime.

Businesses are seeking customers.

Childless couples are seeking a baby.

The unemployed are seeking a job.

The homeless are seeking a home.

Starving children are seeking a meal.

What should the world be seeking?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2008 3:06 pm

    Great use of the prompt Cricket; I enjoyed your list.

    What is the world seeking? Such a profound and complex question.

    I think for me it comes down to what am I seeking in the “little world” that surrounds me, that I can actually impact. That being the case, I am seeking peace, abundance and creative fulfillment. How’s that for goals and dreams? ;<)

    Hugs, G

  2. October 26, 2008 12:55 am

    Geraldine is right, this is an incredibly complex question. I don’t know if one thing could answer it adequately. I liked your varied, often humorous answers. The Miss America one is my favourite. World peace is what all the contestants want, right?

    You have raised a very important point with your answers and that is that our more immediate wants and needs tend to be the things we are seeking, not a more general world view such as peace or an end to hunger. So I guess the question you pose at the end is in fact, the answer to the original question. We all know what we are seeking but collectively, is it what we should be seeking?
    I really liked this, Cricket. Food for thought!

  3. DavidM permalink
    October 27, 2008 4:21 pm

    Hi Cricket,

    I enjoyed reading your poem and I agree with Geraldine and Selma, especially about the poem being profound and thought-provoking.

    I have one suggestion ,I would change “Aspiring actors” to “Aspirant Actors” for the sound of the echoing ‘A’ and ;T’s’ …AspirAnt AcTors.

    Thanks for a great read.
    DavidM

  4. October 29, 2008 3:30 am

    I’m stuck on this prompt but you’ve done a fine job Cricket. I like the repetition. But that’s the BIG question isn’t it- what SHOULD the world be seeking?
    Lauri

  5. October 29, 2008 7:22 pm

    Great list – and I find it fascinating you answered a profound question with another profound question. 🙂

  6. October 30, 2008 12:27 pm

    I too like the list poem approach for this prompt and the open ended question in the last line. I am of the same mind as Geraldine on this – the small ripples we send out from the pools we can impact subtly and steadily influence the larger world. Very thought provoking piece.

  7. November 6, 2008 3:09 pm

    Really wonderful! Succinct and fabulous! It made me smile.
    Thank You, Cricket, for the beautiful words!

    InJoy!
    j

Leave a Reply

