Skip to content

Because of You

November 1, 2008
Selma in the City has a new blog for your writing enjoyment. Search Engine Stories  uses genuine search engine terms as writing prompts. The rules are simple. Write a fiction, non-fiction, or poetic piece based on the prompt. This week’s prompt is “Because of You”.  

 

 

For many years I blamed you for the losses in my life. The loss of our children having the security of a family. The loss of our home we remodeled with blood, sweat, and tears. The loss of our marriage and growing old together. Because of you, we were forced to travel a new road in our lives. In spite of you, we have survived and we are strong.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2008 3:28 am

    I am sorry you went through that, Cricket. I have a few people I blame for losses in my life too. Some people have such power over us, don’t they? I am glad that in spite of it all you remained strong. XXX

    ~~Hi Selma, Actually I became stronger when I stopped playing the blame game and accepted what was to be a new life. The best revenge is success. Cricket

  2. November 4, 2008 2:26 am

    I think that’s what defines people – who continues to blame their lives away and those that chose responsibility and move on. Sometimes people deal us a rotten card, but what we choose to do with it is the difference. Great “perfect paragraph”. 🙂

  3. November 4, 2008 12:40 pm

    This is so profound and succinct at the same time. You certainly have been through a lot Cricket but you have come out the other side, strong and free. Well done with this great prompt.

    Hugs, G

  4. November 4, 2008 4:17 pm

    Yeah for you Cricket. Life is way way too short for the blame game and regrets. let happiness in.
    Lauri

  5. November 4, 2008 6:11 pm

    Moving post.
    I’m glad I found your site.

  6. adamswife permalink
    November 4, 2008 10:18 pm

    “Because of You” congers up good feelings and memories for me. Perhaps because it is one of my favorite love songs. I love the line “Because of you my life is now worthwhile, And I can smile Because of You.”

  7. November 7, 2008 11:40 pm

    Beautiful, straightforward, and strong. What a wonderful affirmation of moving on and of knowing how much is gained through each struggle. Thank you.

  8. DavidM permalink
    November 8, 2008 12:34 am

    Yes,often it is better to make the best out of a bad situation than it is to blame the one who caused it. A good, succint, thought-provoking post. Thanks David

  9. tball permalink
    November 9, 2008 1:49 pm

    What a very powerful paragraph – it was short but to the point.

Leave a Reply

