Skip to content

Golden Glove

November 16, 2008

Slice of Life Sunday is a meme dedicated to preserving the accounts of events cut out of the lives of average people just like you and me from all over the world. And like having ice cream with your pie, there is more to this meme than meets the eye – it’s a meme a` la mode. I hope you will join me and share a Slice of your Life. I have chosen one of this week’s prompts, “A Slate of Solace”, as my granchildren give me so much comfort. Also, Selma has the prompt, “Everybody Loves a Winner”, at Search Engine Stories, which is one of the focuses of my story this week.

 

Golden Glove

 

I truly loved and enjoyed raising my two children. I believe there is no greater honor or responsibility than being a parent.  Yes, there were times during those years when I wanted to pull my hair out, or theirs, but all in all I would have to say it was a pleasurable experience. I definitely went through the empty nest syndrome. My children were my life for 21 years. To find myself alone with no one to care for was a difficult adjustment. Then came grandchildren. I saw a sign the other day that made me smile: “Grandchildren are God’s reward for not killing your children.” I have been blessed with five, three boys and two girls, ranging in age from almost 16 to 7. All are very bright and quite athletic. Sometimes I think too athletic, too competitive in nature. But then, I am reminded by my son, that’s what it takes to be a winner of a college scholarship or a Golden Glove or the Heisman Trophy. I will have to admit how exhilarating it is to watch when one of my grandchildren excels during a game. It is times like those that make great scrapbook pages, grandma’s brag, and this post.

 

Caleb is my youngest grandchild and I must confess I do have a very special bond with him. My son and daughter-in-law invited me to be in the caleb-001delivery room when he was born. What an amazing experience! One would think being pregnant six times, I would have tired of the wonder of childbirth. Being on the other end, so to speak, is a completely different experience.  Although I have felt the pain of childbirth, watching a baby actually being born is nothing short of spectacular. I stood, watching in awe, as Caleb came into this world. After his birth, he was placed in his mother’s arms and my son cut the umbilical cord. The nurse whisked him away, with my son in tow, for his first bath and diaper. A few minutes later my son carried his son back into the room. I had to be patient as the parents shared in their joy of their new son. Finally my son asked if I wanted to hold him. Did I want to hold him? What a silly question. I cradled Caleb in my arms and marveled at how much he looked like his father, right down to one dimple on his right cheek and two on his left cheek. Just as I was caressing his soft face, he opened his eyes. I was the first person he saw, well at least as much as a newborn can see. That incredible moment has been my Achilles’ heel ever since. To this day, all Caleb has to do is look me straight in the eye and I melt; Grandma is putty in his hands. I have never known such solace than when Caleb gives me one of his beautiful smiles with a big hug.

 

Caleb was born into a family with a five year old brother and a ten year old sister, both who were extremely active in sports.  By age two, Caleb was trying hard to keep up. To this grandma’s dismay, the older siblings did not give Caleb a break because he was so much younger. He either had to play by the big boy rules or not play at all. I had to bite my tongue more times than I like to remember.  However, now at age seven, Caleb is one fine athlete. What I saw as bordering on cruelty made him tough and very astute.  He is a superb soccer player, an amazing shot on a basketball court, and a very controlled and deliberate quarterback. As well as he performs in each of these, his favorite sport is baseball. Due to his age, and much to his disconcert, he has only played on T-ball teams. But he has been permitted to serve as an extra on his older brother’s team during practice sessions.  Caleb’s knowledge of baseball is mindboggling. Something we learned last summer.

 

It began as a typical T-ball game. I always found it odd that though there was no pitcher, because the baseball is placed on a standing tee for the batter, a child is always placed in the pitcher’s position. My son is the coach of Caleb’s team and he is very conscientious about rotating positions so each player has an opportunity to learn the responsibilities of all positions. In the fifth inning, it was Caleb’s turn to be the pitcher. The fourth batter up hit a high fly ball between first and second base. The second baseman, whose job it was to catch balls in this area, was busy exchanging candy with the first baseman, like I said, a typical T-ball game. Caleb quickly sized up the situation, ran from the pitcher’s mound to catch the fly ball. Then he ran to first base and tagged the runner out who was trying to make it back to base once he realized Caleb caught the fly ball. Caleb then threw a straight, dead-eye throw to second base, where the short-stop was ready and waiting to catch the ball and tag the runner out trying to get back on that base. Yes, that’s right, a triple play! And as they say, the crowd went wild!!

 

Now, for any non-baseball fans, a triple play is a really, really big deal. The average number of triple plays in professional baseball for any given year is 2-3. The idea that a six year old would even understand the concept of what to do to achieve a triple play, let alone actually implementing the actions needed to accomplish such a feat is unheard of. Even the coach from the other team walked over to shake Caleb’s hand and give him a pat on the back. Of course he had to wait a few minutes as Caleb was busy.  As talented as Caleb is in any sport he plays, being humble is not in his vocabulary. He was busy jumping up and down, screaming at the top of his lungs, “I made a triple play! I made a triple play!”

 

But everyone in attendance, including this very proud grandma, forgave his arrogance. After all, he did indeed make a triple play and everybody loves a winner, especially if they are only six years old! Yes, I do believe there is a Golden Glove in Caleb’s future.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. adamswife permalink
    November 16, 2008 11:16 pm

    Who’s gonna crow for you if you don’t crow for yourself? Good for Caleb! And good for you being the proud Grandma.

  2. November 17, 2008 1:52 am

    That’s so cool – he deserved to jump! Redbeard looks forward to being a grandparent… I’m a little afraid I won’t be able to bite my tongue like you have.. this is a very sweet slice! 🙂

  3. November 18, 2008 3:11 pm

    What a wonderful story!

  4. tball permalink
    November 19, 2008 12:14 am

    I love this story! A 6 year old making a triple play – definitely a winner to love!

  5. November 19, 2008 4:52 am

    What an incredible story. He must be an amazing player. You should be proud of him. I absolutely love hearing the stories about your family and am glad you have so many grandchildren to love!

  6. November 19, 2008 10:58 am

    Cricket what a nice story! I actually can’t wait to be a grandmother though my kids are still teenagers (I’m not pushing them -don’t worry). Your story really let’s people see how different it is from parenting.

    Yeah for Caleb!

  7. November 19, 2008 6:01 pm

    What a lovely story. I enjoyed its honesty, warmth, humor and beauty.

    Hurrah for you and Caleb!.

    DavidM

Leave a Reply

