Skip to content

When it Rains it Pours!

March 2, 2009
rain1Sunday: overcast with showers. Today: monsoon in Ohio.

I was very sad to learn Paul Harvey died on Saturday. For those who did not have the pleasure of listening to Paul for over 50 years on the radio, he was the number one most listened to radio personality. He was most known for a segment called, “And now for the rest of the story.” Paul would present a news item and then finish with a surprise bit of information that was little known by most people. I loved his humor and credit him with making me see there was always more to a story than just what was reported. Paul will be missed by many.

Mid-afternoon on Sunday I also learned my older sister was in the hospital. She had fallen in the bathtub and broke her knee. Given her excess weight and diabetes, she has a very long road to recovery a head of her. I visited her today and learned she will be transported to a nursing home tomorrow where she will receive rehabilitative services for a minimum of six weeks. She is not pleased with the situation but after an hour of talking with her, she finally accepted there was no other choice.  She wanted me to let her come and live with me and our father, and for me to help her with her exercises and whatever else needed done. I had to play the tough sister and almost humiliate her into seeing things the way they were. I explained I was already taking care of our father, and have since our mother passed away 11 years ago, and that he is now having difficulty walking, stumbling and falling on a regular basis, and forgets to turn off the water in the bathroom sink after he washes his hand. I already have a lot on my plate and just can’t take on anymore. I also reminded her that at no time during the last year has she even offered to spend a day with our father so I could have a break. She finally got the point.

While at the hospital I also visited my younger sister, who I learned on Sunday evening was also in the hospital. She has been ill for several years, suffering from the effects of a stroke and the onslaught of dementia. It seems she has not taken her medication for diabetes for some time and was in very poor condition when taken to the hospital. I fear she has had another stroke, although the nurse said an MRI was done and none was detected. At this point, my younger sister does not know what year it is, or even the month. She thinks Ronald Reagan is the president and she lives in an apartment that she hasn’t lived in for more than twenty years. She had been on a temporary Medicaid program pending a review to receive a disability ruling. However, she failed to “remember” to refile some paperwork and her Medicaid ran out on February 27th. I was asked by the hospital counselor to help my sister complete the needed paperwork and run it down to the Human Services office so it could be processed and a number obtained so she could also be transported to the nursing home tomorrow.

Despite the fact that I had a job interview in two hours, I helped my sister complete the paperwork – mostly I filled it out and she scrawed her name – and headed for the Human Services office. I was told by the hospital counselor all I needed to do was drop off the paperwork. Wrong! I find it interesting how many of those employed as public servants forget the “servant” part. I walked up to the receptionist and explained I was to drop off some papers for a person named Bobbie. I was told I could not just drop off anything and she would go into the back and ask Bobbie what she wanted done with the paperwork. Given the receptionist’s arrogant attitude, I had an idea of what she could do with the paperwork, but only smiled and kept my thoughts to myself. More than 15 minutes later, the receptionist returned and said I would have to come back tomorrow as they only process applications on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Well, I will admit I had had enough. In addition to all that I have listed, plus trying to find a job after being laid off since June, and dealing with another personal issue, this was the icing on the cake . . . the straw that broke the camel’s back . . . I became enraged and lost my temper, something I rarely do and even more rarely in public. I ended my brief tirade with “its nice to see our tax dollars at work” and stormed out.

Yes, I was five minutes late to my interview. I should mention that over 90 people had applied for this position, and I was one of five receiving an in-person interview. Although I composed myself during the 40 minute drive, the fact I was late did not earn me bonus points, especially since I was interviewing for a human resource manager position. I was able to make the gentleman see the humor in the situation. I believe I said something like, “You have to be wondering just what kind of an excuse would a human resource manger of over 20 years  have for being 5 minutes late to an interview for a human resource manager position. Well, let me tell you – my wife forgot to fill the car up with gas, there was a 15 car pile up on 77, there was a storm last night and the electric went off and my alarm clock didn’t go off, and my dog ate the paper with my references and I had to type another one.” Once we quit laughing, I gave him a very brief recounting of my day and we completed the interview. I wonder if I will get one of the two call back interviews?

When I returned home, I learned my neice never showed up to sit with my dad. Fortunately, he fell asleep in his recliner and only woke up when I came in the door. I was sharing my experiences of the day with him when the phone rang. It was a nephew calling to tell us my brother had fainted at work from having a very bad migraine headache, fell off a platform, and broke his collar bone. He too is in the hospital.

When it rains, it pours!

Fortunately, I have a good umbrella in the form of broad shoulders andrain3 thick skin, and I have been blessed with the “healthy gene” as I am the only one in my family not to have diabetes, high blood pressure, and heart problems. Well . . .  maybe the receptionist at Human Services would question whether I have a heart at all!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2009 11:22 am

    You’ve just made me feel so much better about my own life. Thank you! Hope things are looking up for you and your family.

  2. March 9, 2009 9:11 pm

    I was wondering if Slice of Life Sunday had ground to a halt – I see no meme passed 15th Feb.

Leave a Reply

