Skip to content

Getting Back to What I Love

July 2, 2009

I have taken an extended sabbatical from blogging with the intent of having more time to devote to writing a creative non-fiction novel based on my stories from Slice of Life Sunday. Everything had gone well until two weeks ago when I developed a panic attack while writing about a particularly painful memory. Several days later, I sat down to write again and the panic attack returned. I realized something was dreadfully wrong. I have consulted a therapist who believes I have suppressed part of that memory for over 43 years. She has advised me to put my book on hold and to get back to writing about something that brings me joy. She says if I am to remember I will when the time is right. I am taking her advise.

monthly movieI had always loved participating in writing prompts by fellow bloggers and I just discovered that Geraldine from My Poetic Path has started a new ‘monthly’ meme entitled Monthly Movie Musings. Once a month, on the first day of the month, Geraldine provides a movie title as a writing prompt. She says she had “always been intrigued by movie titles. Obviously, Hollywood and other film-makers work  hard to weave their magic with the teaser that is the title. But what other roads could be explored with that very same phrase/or word?”  I find this to be a very intriguing way to develop writing prompts. So, without further ado, July’s Monthly Movie Musing prompt “Nowhere To Run” has inspired me to write:

 

Night of the Stalkers

The old woman, crippled from years of enduring the affects of rheumatoid arthritis, finally succumbed to exhaustion from many trips hobbling between the front and back doors of her home. She could not make another trip. With the resolve of a cornered cat ambushed by a pack of wild dogs, she pushed the heavy oak door leading to her porch wide open, standing dead center under the muted light, presenting an easy target to the sinister stalkers that had been circling her house for more than a half an hour.

“You want me? Come get me!” She screamed into the cold autumn night knowing she had no where to run and couldn’t even if she did.

“What are you waiting for? Not so tough now are you?” She taunted as the menacing shadows rustled through the leaves in her front yard.

“Cowards! You’re all gutless cowards!” She accused her faceless stalkers as they crept closer to her porch.

“Geez Mrs. Wilson, if you didn’t want to pass out candy you shouldn’t have left your porch lights on.”

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2009 10:31 am

    Cricket, I am sorry to hear about your panic attacks. I know how debilitating they can be. You are definitely right to leave your book for a while. I hope you are feeling a little better.

    I loved this story. Liked the cute little twist at the end. Great to see you blogging again!!!

    Hi Selma, thanks for stopping by. I am feeling better. Needed to get the pressure off for a bit. Cricket

  2. July 3, 2009 11:57 am

    Been there, done that re: panic attacks. What a horrible experience but perhaps in the long run, this will lead to some doors being closed and painful memories left behind. I hope that’s the case for you Cricket.

    LOVED your story, great ending. And thanks so much for your kind words re: MMM. I look forward to your participation in the months to come. It’s great to have you back. 🙂

    Hugs, G

    Hi G, I do love the format for your new meme. I too have always liked the titles to movies. I am going to enjoy participating each month. Cricket

    • Geraldine permalink
      July 8, 2009 6:07 pm

      I just read your comment on Selma’s blog re: your mother’s rings. Wow, that’s amazing but at the same time, I know its true.

      My mother-in-law sounds just like your late mother. If there was any way she could take her cash with her, I know she would. CHEAP and miserable….I am so sorry you had this kind of memory of your mom to live with. So sad….

      Many hugs, G

  3. August 1, 2009 2:50 pm

    I have a new movie prompt posted at:

    http://mypoeticpath.wordpress.com/2009/08/01/monthly-movie-musings-take-3/

    hope you can participate again this month Cricket!

    Hugs, G

  4. September 25, 2009 7:54 am

    Hello Cricket first off I wanted to let you know I recieved your commnt this morning when I finally walked into the house I appreciate everybodys comments I believe your fairly knew to mingling or at least the one I’m from. I don’t really hear from many minglers for some dtrange reason. but thanks for stopping bye . the story I read this morning written by you was nice I liked the ending “nowhere to run been there done that also but still loved the ending. I’m sure I’ll be reading your posts on the different prompt blogs I love to write to them also.
    And again Thanks For stopping by
    This Blog Of Mine.( Larry )

Leave a Reply

