Skip to content

Night of the Stalkers

October 9, 2009

Sunday2

This week’s writing prompt for Sunday Scribblings is “bump in the night.” I actually wrote the following short story several months back, but it seems appropriate.

 

Night of the Stalkers

The old woman, badly crippled from years of enduring the affects of rheumatoid arthritis, finally succumbed to exhaustion from many trips hobbling between the front and back doors of her home. She could not make another trip. With the resolve of a cornered cat ambushed by a pack of wild dogs, she pushed the heavy oak door leading to her porch wide open. She stood dead center under the muted security light, presenting an easy target to the sinister stalkers that had been circling her house for more than a half an hour.

“You want me? Come get me!” She screamed into the cold autumn night knowing she had no where to run and couldn’t even if she did.

“What are you waiting for? Not so tough now are you?” She taunted as the menacing shadows rustled through the leaves in her front yard.

“Cowards! You’re all gutless cowards!” She accused her faceless stalkers as they crept closer to her porch.

“Geez Mrs. Wilson, if you didn’t want to pass out candy you shouldn’t have left your porch lights on.”

27 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 2:28 am

    Nice twist at the end. Poor old darlin’.

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:43 pm

      yes, it was a cruel trick to play on her in this writing. Cricket

  2. October 10, 2009 4:07 am

    I do like twisty tales. Well done.

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:44 pm

      thank you Anthony, that is high praise coming from the Twist Master. Cricket

  3. October 10, 2009 8:55 am

    Very cute. I also like the twist in your story, turning “sinister stalkers” into little kids in costumes.

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:46 pm

      Hi Shelly, I was going to make “faceless stalkers” be masked stalkers but thought that would give the twist away too soon. Cricket

  4. October 10, 2009 12:26 pm

    I love twists!

    solidified

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:47 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for stopping by. Cricket

  5. October 10, 2009 6:29 pm

    lmao…that’s priceless

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:47 pm

      We all need a big chuckle once in a while. I’m happy you like this so much. Cricket

  6. October 10, 2009 11:31 pm

    I’ve encountered some wretched people like that when I was younger and trick-or-treating.

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:49 pm

      Really, I remember trick or treating to being a fun night – it was the following day that was wretched from eating too much candy! LOL Cricket

  7. October 11, 2009 1:11 am

    Neatly done but still leaving her in pain from her arthritis as well as embarrassment from her forgetfulness. I loved it.

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:52 pm

      LOL are you a masochist by nature, or just a realist by time? LOL Cricket

  8. October 11, 2009 11:04 am

    Ha ha ha! Wonderfully done.

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:53 pm

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed my little Halloween tale, Cricket

  9. October 11, 2009 7:21 pm

    hahaha LOVed it! so funny and unexpected!!
    ( I think I may be turning into Mrs. Wilso)

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:53 pm

      Sadly, so am I! Thanks for stopping by. Cricket

  10. October 12, 2009 4:45 am

    I especially like the opening description. Nicely done all around!

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:57 pm

      Thank you! I was hoping to set the stage for something much more sinister than what it actually was. Cricket

  11. October 12, 2009 9:07 am

    I love this. It has totally cracked me up. You are almost as good at the twists in the tale as Anthony!

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 9:58 pm

      WOW! Thank you for such a wonderful compliment. Considering he is the King of Twists, I am honored to even be in his mist.Cricket

  12. October 12, 2009 5:02 pm

    Hello, I loved your short story. I was not expecting the ending like that, but great. Sorry it has been a while since I have stopped by.

    Love and Hugs,
    Joyce

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 10:00 pm

      Hi Joyce, yes it has been a while, of course it is mostly my fault as I have been AWOL for most of the summer. Thanks for stopping by. Cricket

  13. October 12, 2009 7:09 pm

    Bless her heart, hope she didn’t get too big of a scare – puts a whole new meaning on the phrase trick or treat 🙂 Well done!

    • cricket51 permalink*
      October 12, 2009 10:01 pm

      Thank you so much for your kind praise. I so enjoyed writing this, it makes me happy that so many have enjoyed reading it. Cricket

  14. October 12, 2009 11:50 pm

    Oh those paranoid old biddies! You protrayed her feelings so well.

Leave a Reply

