Skip to content

Monday Movie Meme – True Romance

October 12, 2009

monday movie

Monday Movie Meme gives a movie topic each week which readers may write about memories of a movie the prompt inspires. This week’s movie prompt is “True Romance”.

 

golden pondOne of my all time favorite romantic movies is “On Golden Pond.” Although the movie came out in the early 80’s, and I was only in my 12th or 13th year of a twenty-two year marriage, it struck a cord in me, like a life-affirming valentine making promises of love ever after.  I believe it was Roger Ebert, movie critic of the Chicago Sun-Times, who said at the time, “Watching the movie, I felt I was witnessing something rare and valuable.” That’s what I thought as I watched the interaction between Norman (Henry Fonda) and Ethel (Katherine Hepburn) – a love that endured the hardships of the early years of marriage, survived the disappointments of the middle years, and lived to fight in the golden years when the ravages of time becomes the enemy. That kind of love is rare and extremely valuable. I have been divorced from my first husband for almost as many years as we had been married, and it has been difficult to forgive him for many of the horrible and cruel things he did to our family, the least of which not being crushing the promise of love On Golden Pond.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 10:48 pm

    I was just a kid when this movie came out but I remember it fondly – love throughout and across the generations. I loved the entire cast – and the story. Making it that long in love seems to be such a hard thing – but you are right, it is a promise we make to each other from the beginning. One that should be kept. But you have been freed to find love again rather than be trapped with misery. And I wish you success now and in those golden years.

Leave a Reply

